Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Notes to myself

You don’t have to be all things, all-knowing, or perfect.

What if you are just you, your true self, flaws and all.

It’s okay if you’re not good at everything.

It’s okay to be yourself.

No one cares if your outfit is a little mismatched, a bit wrinkled, or tired.

You’re supposed to look older and have a gray hair or two.

The only thing expected of you, is you, your true self, the person living on the inside.

Your job is to just be and nothing else.

Let it happen.

Do you ever wonder why we expect so much of ourselves and why we can’t get over the fact that we aren’t everything we want to be or everything someone else wants us to be? Can you live with yourself as is, without regret? It’s hard but I’m realizing  just how important it is and trying my dammedest to do it.

A while back I talked about the book A Sea of Whispers that I self-published. After receiving my copies, I gave them out as Christmas gifts to my family. I mentioned in a previous post, offering this book in my Etsy shop sometime in the future. That future isn’t today. It still might happen.  I’ve realized that it’s not important to share what I think or feel with the world but to offer something that captures your thoughts and views. I’d like to merge this book into a journal that records your self- discovery and journey through life. A place where you can record your thoughts without being censored. A place where you are free to be your authentic self. This idea gives me something to work on. I plan to talk to the company that published my book and see what we could offer at an affordable price.

We are all on a journey and have a story to tell and that’s important. I have to say my journey would not be the same without each one of you. It’s funny that it’s so easy to share myself with people I’ve never met. Perhaps it’s because we have a certain need or connection that bonds us so tightly. Or maybe we feel comfortable because we never have to meet face to face. It’s kind of like having an imaginary friend. The fact that you are very real sometimes overwhelms me. I can’t believe I have shared so much of myself with all of you.

Thank you for listening and just being there when I needed to share. You’ll never know how much it’s meant to me.

xo-junie

February 4, 2010 - Posted by | confessions, Hello Miss Manners, me, photography, secrets | , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. […] ========================= We are not claiming to be the original source of this post, some links might be automatically be removed, so see the original story at: secrets « WordPress.com Tag Feed […]

    Pingback by Notes to myself »Coolweather | February 4, 2010

  2. Beautiful photos of your book!!! Ooooooo swoonilicious Junie. Let’s see, now your list….#’s 1,2,3,4 completed agree with. Ahhhhemmm, #5 however, since that witch on Weight Watchers on Line whipped me into shape and I shopped extremely successfully at Black Market and purchased a wardrobe in a small size, I match. Always. No wrinkles on my newly little butt. #6. nonono. Just had my rodent colored grays and my whites bleached into the most perfect blonde just yesterday…amazed I can actually form complete sentences today. However, my favorite color still is clear.
    **blows billowy blonde kisses** Deb

    Comment by Deborah | February 4, 2010

  3. Oh Junie- I just love you and your sweet wisdom. I am so with you ,as you know, we are truely connected. It is so hard to just be. I think your book is lovely and a part of your story. However you decide to present it will be the right thing for that time.
    I am so glad you are in my life. A blessing for sure.
    Love to you today and always,
    Laurel

    Comment by laurel | February 4, 2010

  4. I enjoy my visits here–thanks for the good blogging.

    Comment by slamdunk | February 4, 2010

  5. Accepting who we are and willing to be ourselves is something I think comes with age.
    Sharing who we are through a book or a blog is to be just another form of expression. Letting the world know we are here.

    Comment by Shell | February 5, 2010

  6. Hello Junie,

    Hhhmmmmm to be one’s self . . . and embracing it with all your heart! I can remember times where my thoughts are filled with I wish I were this, I wish I were that . . . I wish . . . I wish . . . I wish! But no. I needed to stop, look at me, and then realizing that I am blessed.

    Oh yes, I am not perfect and I think I’m far from it too :-) But my imperfections, my flaws – though it may make me sad a little, still, at the end of the day, just before I sleep and pray, I realize I am ok :-)

    I will never be somebody else (and funny how sometimes we try to, our loveones love us as we are :-) ) but I do know I am someone :-)

    I agree too, I find myself comfortable sharing my thoughts to everybody out there. It doesn’t seem to matter. And it is quite freeing laying it out there. Yes, I like what you said about imaginary friends :-) It is somehow like that LOL BUt these imaginary friends we have sure know how to be encouraging and supportive :-) And I am thankful for that too.

    Mizpah,
    Li

    Comment by MyThoughtsMyVoice | February 8, 2010


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

