Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Quickie in Chicago

This image was borrowed from a flicker friend

The last few weeks have been fast and furious,no time to savour or reflect on anything. I’m getting ready to embark on my yearly spring break in just a few days and I’m overwhelmed with must do’s before I go. Even so I had to make good on a promise I made to a little girl (the princess) that I would take her to the Chicago American Girl store to spend  her Christmas money. So on Sunday I did just that. Packed up the car with mommy princess, baby princess, grammy princess and great-grammy princess. We left very early morning and returned very, very late at night.  It was a long way to go for just a few hours of fun but totally worth it.

She was so exited and over whelmed at first it was fun to watch. Even at the young age of two princess Giselle is addicted to dolls, jewels and all things girlie.  The cutest part of the whole day was when we entered the bitty-baby room and she let out a gasp and then grabbed her doll and said look…. your friends. It almost made me cry and definitely made the trip worth while. The store is amazing at three stories tall. It’s also exhausting.

Lanie the doll of the year was Giselle’s pick-she’s adorable.

We didn’t make many other stops except my fave store- Anthrolpologie- love it like no other.  As I entered the store my heart raced and my palms got sweaty. I looked, I drooled and I dreamed but I didn’t spend. I’m so proud of myself. This trip was for the princess and besides I have no funds to spend with vacation just 3 days away.

Now if I can only smooth the bags under my eyes and guzzle enough coffee to get my butt out of this chair and off to work… Need sleepy and a comfy pair of shoes to get me through this day!

Happy Monday

xo-jj

March 29, 2010 - Posted by | family woes, me, rants | , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. OOOoooo Bity Baby! Alice had one and a lot of outfits too. Couldn’t afford the actual girl dolls back then, but they are so wonderfully made,and their accessories are so cute. What a lovely trip…all the Princesses. It is Spring this morning. I want to call in sick and take another play day.
    **blows kisses** Deb

    Comment by Deborah | March 29, 2010

  2. Hey Junie-girl. I’ve missed your posts and will now go back and read what I have missed over the last two weeks. Love those anthropoligie windows. Always so creative and joyful. Blessings to ya. Sea Witch

    Comment by Sea Witch | March 29, 2010

  3. Glad you were able to share that fun family time together in the Windy City. Enjoy your Spring break.

    Comment by Slamdunk | March 29, 2010

  4. Aaawww how sweet – getting to spend time with little princesses. ANd yes Lanie is adorable.

    Well, I guess feeling exhausted is worth it after seeing those happy little faces.And you have a vacation to look forward to. I’m sure you’ll have lots and lots of fun – and then you get to go to the beach seeing your ready shopping for swimwear :-) So that is a good thing to look forward. You’ll be away for a while and relax and enjoy all you want.

    Mizpah,
    Li

    Comment by MyThoughtsMyVoice | March 30, 2010

  5. Awe so fun . What a fun memory! Wow -2 and knows how to save money for a doll- can you ask her to give me a call please , Junie! I need some tips on delayed gratification . Big time. Bwahahaha!!
    I am also going to miss you my dear. I hope you have the best time on your trip and make wonderful memories my friend.
    Love
    laurel

    Comment by Laurel | March 30, 2010


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

