Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

A bowl of bohemian soup makes an ordinary girl feel creative and complete

Yesterday morning I awoke to the sound of black birds squabbling over the last of the winter berries and a cupboard completely devoid of anything edible. No matter how much I detest a trip down the isles of  my local grocery store it’s impossible to put it off for even one more day.

I don’t check the cupboards, make lists or have even the vaguest idea of what is on the menu for the up-coming week when I set out on my shopping trip. I wander through the isles with everything but cooking on my mind. I look at the young woman pushing the cart in front of me and wonder. Does she walk like that because her jeans are too tight or does she have a genuine disability? Is that guy with the cart full of beer and cookies having a party or does he eat like that on a regular basis? I sniff the laundry detergent in an attempt to find something that doesn’t make my clothes smell like wilted flowers or some other offensive aroma. I look down at my cart and notice that so far I’ve managed to toss a tube of mascara and a bottle of advil into my cart, no fixins for dinner or anything remotely edible has come close to this four-wheeled basket that’s in desperate need of a front end alignment. 

After another hour or so of wandering through the isles, noticing the loose tiles on the floor and savoring the smell of freshly ground coffee beans, I do manage to secure a few items worthy of consumption. This mix in my basket doesn’t resemble anything that would make a meal but it inspires me to go home and create something warm and fresh with a little spice.

A carton of organic chicken broth set to boil, a cup or so of chipotle bisque, ( I never measure anything) a quarter  box of frozen corn-the kind with both white and yellow kernels, stir-fried chicken strips, dance in the pot for a few minutes before I add some brown rice and  a handful of spices.  It smells okay, earthy but not quite finished-the toppers are the best part. A handful of cilantro, a half dozen chips, a few slices of avacado-soft and creamy but not too ripe and a large spoonful of fresh salsa… whala, I have a bowlful of the most delisc bohemian soup ever-tasted,well at least I think so. 

It’s earthy, spicey and more importantly, edible. I don’t like to cook unless I can experiment with whatever ingredients sound good to me at the time. I know what I need to eat in order to feel good for the day but the whole idea of going to the store and figuring out what to buy is painful. If only I would have thought beyond last nights dinner and bought something for breakfast this morning, this rainy day- hovering  just above 40 degrees wouldn’t be so challenging to maneuver, maybe next shopping trip.  ;)

xo-jj

May 11, 2010 - Posted by | bad boys, confessions, nasty habits, photography | , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. This was a great read! Funny, entertaining, random! I Love it! OOooooo I always get THAT cart! All the years I was working like crazy I rarely left the house, so when I did get to the grocery store, I would be there for hours, so amazed by everything on the shelves. So sad. **sniff** Now I leave the house more and the kids call their dad on his cell phone, asking WHERE’S MOM??? I cannot believe your weather! We’ve cooled down a bit…high today of 82. Come play! **kisskiss** Deb

    Comment by Deborah | May 11, 2010

  2. It is scaey how much we are alike. Soemtimes I make a list but to date it has never made it to the store with me. I have thought about giving online shopping a try, I KNOW I would spend less. The thing is, I used to express myself more through cooking. I loved making up cozy winter meals and craved summer grilling but somehow I just don’t care much for it now. Maybe because I do other things that fill my need to be creative. I do feel badly for my family that I am not as on it as I once was. Maybe it’ll come back :)
    or not:)
    Love to you Sweetie Junie June!

    Comment by laurel | May 11, 2010


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

