Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

I Hate the Holidays because My Family Sucks

festive dinner tablePlease Welcome LonelyLinda to the sofa.

I hate the holidays because my family always makes a perfectly nice day unbearable. My mother is definitely not a domestic goddess and always either under-cooks or over-cooks the dinner. She then gets really upset about it and cries for most of the meal.  My step-father is a complete asshole and a drunk. By the time dinner is over he is so intoxicated that he picks a fight with everyone. Last year he and my brother Sam managed to knock over the Christmas tree and a candle which started a little fire during their drunken brawl. I’m sorry but there just isn’t enough booze or Valium in the world to get me through it again this year. I’m thinking about faking sick and spending Christmas alone this year.

Can anyone else relate to Linda’s Holiday woes?

Merry Christmas from the Family-enjoy it

December 6, 2008 - Posted by | confessions, family woes | , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. To LonelyLinda – You would be shocked at how many people would rather spend the holidays alone than with others. So in that case, you are not alone in wanting to be alone. The gathering of family is not always the warm, fuzzy stuff that you see on TV but rather the reopening of old wounds and that hurts. Why would you want to endure that? And the story you just shared must have been awful to go through. I’m sorry you went through that.

    This Thanksgiving I stayed in. I’m estranged from most of my family but really didn’t even want to be around my friends. I worked most of the day and then crawled into bed when I got home.

    Does this help? I don’t know but it wasn’t painful. I don’t have the right answer but I don’t think it’s wrong to want to be alone on the holidays.

    To JavaJune- Thank you for stopping by and giving words of support.

    Comment by Ricardo | December 6, 2008

  2. Ricardo, Thank you for the comforting words you gave Lonelylinda. Her feelings are shared by many. You were so right to say that she is not wrong for wanting to spend the Holidays alone. This is a tough time of year.
    jj

    Comment by javajune | December 7, 2008

  3. Saddly most of the reason that I love to go visit with family on holidays or any occasion is that I get to spend the entire day with my brother-in-law and that’s about it. In case you didn’t see my confession Linda, I have an infatuation with him. I get butterflies in my stomach when I call my sister’s house and he answers the phone. 🙂

    Comment by Lindsey | December 10, 2008

  4. Lindsey, Be careful and enjoy your holiday season.
    jj

    Comment by javajune | December 10, 2008


Leave a Reply

