Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

My Co-workers are Junkies

Please welcome Belleblue to the sofa.

My co-workers are stealing drugs from the doctor’s office I work in. The nurse has been pocketing  pain killers and the office manager writes her own scripts while the nurse calls it in to the pharmacy. One day, she asked me to do it and when I refused her attitude toward me changed. Now she is a real bitch and I am afraid of getting fired.

 I have faced drama in the work place before but I just don’t know if I can handle it this time. I’m afraid if I report their illegal actions to the doctor, the office manager will pin the drug stealing on me because I took home antibiotics when my throat was soar, on occasion. The fact that I have known that this was going on for some time and said nothing doesn’t speak well of me either. I guess in a way, I am as guilty as they are.

Junie: Sounds like you’re in a no way out kind of situation. I would start hunting for another job real quick and refrain from taking any more antibiotics, for sure. Good luck!

jj

December 11, 2008 - Posted by | confessions, secrets, should be illegal | , , , , , , , ,

11 Comments »

  1. Junie when you are in a situation where there’s all sorts of bad things going on, it’s very hard to rise up and do the right thing because there is such a profound fear of the repercussions that you’ve stated here. You feel that you can’t or won’t be protected. All of us feel that if we are in a situation like this, we would stand up and say no more. That is until we are actually in the situation.

    Some EXTREME examples of this are seen on the news like the prison in Iraq where many soldiers felt what they were doing to the prisoners was wrong, yet they were afraid to speak up and some even followed along. There are numerous social experiments done over the years where good people were exposed to bad situations and did nothing or played along because they did not want to disrupt the chain of authority or become an outcast.

    I would say, like JJ, to remove yourself from this situation as quickly as possible. Antibiotics are way different from controlled substances so don’t beat yourself up too much for taking those. One is a substance abuse problem and yours was just cutting corners to clear up a sore throat.

    As for whistle blowing, you can always do it after you get out of there if you feel you have to. I can’t tell you what to do on that one but go with your gut.

    Comment by Ricardo | December 11, 2008

  2. Ricardo that is an excellent suggestion to a really difficult situation. I hope things work out for her.
    jj

    Comment by javajune | December 11, 2008

  3. I honestly dont know what I would do if I was in your shoes!

    Comment by Lindsey | December 11, 2008

  4. This is a bad situation that needs to be addressed before you end up in the middle of the whole mess.

    Comment by BoxerBoy33 | December 12, 2008

  5. Wow, that is an amazing story. I do not think you have to worry about losing your job – they stand to get in a LOT more trouble than you do. They may even be afraid that you will narc on them. Drug abusers are likely to do everything they possibly can to avoid getting caught. They will not want to get you in trouble for fear that they will come under scrutiny.

    On the other hand, it sounds like an uncomfortable environment, perhaps you should think about leaving it as soon as possible.

    Comment by drugabusefocus | December 12, 2008

  6. In my opition a job should never keep you awake at night I would look elsewhere for a job and get the heck out of there!

    Comment by Snowprincess21 | December 12, 2008

  7. Thank you for all of your support I will started looking for a new office to work at, I think that is going to be the best plan of action for me. Thank you again!!

    Comment by BelleBlue | December 12, 2008

  8. I would contact the police. Then you can be left out of it.

    Comment by girldujour | December 13, 2008

  9. Thank you everyone for your comments. I agree that a job shouldn’t keep you up at night and perhaps she should let the police deal with her co-workers.
    jj

    Comment by javajune | December 14, 2008

  10. As a former drug addict (pills), you should get out of there, today, put in your 2 week notice, what they are doing is a very serious offense. Eventually the cops will be questioning you about their drug problem. If they do, please say I have no knowledge. These days they will try to make you turn states or try to charge you with obstruction because you knew about the crime. Your co-workers will get busted, it’s not if it’s when. I know a lot of people out there will say stand up for your rights, blah, blah, blah, I have a friend who turned states in a cocaine operation in south florida in the late 80’s, she is still in hiding. People who do drugs ain’t right in the head, believe it.

    Comment by Pam A | December 17, 2008

  11. Thank you Pam for your words of wisdom. I think I would find another job quick.
    jj

    Comment by javajune | December 18, 2008


Leave a Reply

