Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

No Family Vacation just a gifting Circle Nightmare

Please welcome BadMomma to the sofa.

I can’t believe I gave our vacation fund to a group of women who promised me friendship and easy money. I met this stranger in the McDonald’s parking lot and handed her an envelope  with 5k of my families savings inside. I knew very little about her, only that she was a friend of my neighbors and sounded very persuasive on the phone. She said this was totally legal and not a pyramid scheme. Why then, did we have to meet in the Micky D’s parking lot and why did I hand her 5k in cash in an unmarked envelope. I didn’t get a receipt or even her phone number for that matter, she had called me.

I am a grown woman with a college degree,  two kids and a husband who is a professional. This doesn’t sound like an act of a responsible or even remotely intelligent woman.  My Husband and I had been saving the money to take our kids on a trip to Disney World this year.  I didn’t tell my hubby I was doing it- not even my best friend. My neighbor was so convincing and told me that she had invested and received twice and now 80k richer. I haven’t notice any difference in her lifestyle, she isn’t driving a new Beamer. She said she’d put the money away for her son’s college fund and I believed her.

I just wanted to get ahead and make a substantial contribution to the family finances- a little savvy investment of my own. Instead I think I may have blown our dream vacation to Disney. How will I tell my husband or explain it to the kids? I don’t think my little investment is going to pan out. It has been almost 8 months and I have moved up only one space in the heart. At this point I will never make it to the receiver position.  My neighbor told me to be patient because this group is moving a little slower than most. Our vacation is set for April and I still have a long way to go before the pay out.

I can’t believe I was so stupid. If it sounds too good to be true- well you know the rest!

Junie: How sad for your family. I myself have been approached to join one. I will admit temptation but I’m happy to say I turned my friend’s invitation down. I hope things turn around for you before April. Good luck!

jj

December 14, 2008 - Posted by | confessions, family woes, should be illegal | , , , , , , , , ,

16 Comments »

  1. […] Vote No Family Vacation just a friendship Scam […]

    Pingback by unofficial disney world | Digg hot tags | December 14, 2008

  2. I hope you do get your money back and if so, I would run very far away from that circle. Also, while losing 5k hurts, you could always see it as a lesson learned. We have all done stupid things that we kick ourselves over. It happens to the best and brightest. While you may or may not get your dream vacation, you are unharmed, the kids are safe and maybe your husband will understand once you explain the motive. Will he be mad? I guess, but I’m sure he loves you and will try and get past this. There will be a time where he screws up and the roles will be reversed. We all screw up. It’s how you deal with it that shows who we really are.

    Comment by Ricardo | December 16, 2008

  3. You are so right Ricardo but ouch 5k, that had to hurt!
    jj

    Comment by javajune | December 18, 2008

  4. Can I ask your location? I’m in a gifting circle in Michigan and I am in the receiver position and it only took me 4 weeks! I’ve posted on here before. 8 months is a long time!! I’m so sorry, what are all the women saying & have you contributed to the circle by adding any of your friends/family? That’s how things keep moving…. is bring people in.

    Comment by Cindy | December 19, 2008

  5. If you didn’t tell your family or any friends… then your not helping anyone and contributing to the circle. You can’t move if people don’t get in under you. That’s the POINT! Your missing the point here, gifting circle’s are not magical money growing circles… they take work. Have you been to meetings? Phone conferences? …. These are things that happen in these “Successful” circles! If everyone is so hush hush then how is this a ‘women helping women’ gifting circle?

    /…. I’m confused…./ you have no knowldege about what a gifting circle consists of or how they work. Because they do work!!!

    Comment by Cindy | December 19, 2008

  6. Thank you Cindy for your insight into gifting circles. I do believe our confessor was involved in a woman’s circle from michigan. That’s all I know and besides all confession are kept confidential. Good luck with your circle
    jj.

    Comment by javajune | December 22, 2008

  7. Tell the police. Gifting circles are illegal pyramid schemes. If the ring is busted, the writer might receive some of her money back.

    Comment by Hecate | December 24, 2008

  8. My mom joined one of these, best thing thats ever happened to her! She’s gotten her house back, her life back! They really focus on helping women, she hasalso helped a women with crohns disease get help! And some abuse lady get her life back with her chidlren.!

    It’s amazxing but I live in Florida and its just becomeing big here!! Good luck!

    Comment by Anna | January 11, 2009

  9. I posted on a different circle blog about a women on here from Muskegon
    /White Hall who’s had success with these. She’s a personal friend of a friend. She’s actually well known so she mixed up her initials so she coundn’t be found out.

    Bottom line, it works for some people & it doesnt for others. I’m sorry to those who feel they have been taken or any of the sort. It has benefited many women who I personally know. If it wasn’t for this horrible state of economy that Michigan has become it might not have come to this. The lady who brought this into Michigan, as I’ve been told, is from Minnesota. She started this off benefitting homeless shelters in Minnesota and has then sence started her own shelter.

    I have not yet joined but many women I know are involved. I’m still sitting on the fence with this topic.

    Comment by Patricia M. Sellers-Pellen | January 11, 2009

  10. Wow,
    I have learned a lot from my friends here in blog land. I guess Patricia said it best “Bottom line, it works for some people & it doesn’t work for others.” Let’s hope the economy gets better and we all benefit in some way.
    jj

    Comment by javajune | January 12, 2009

  11. Barb, I feel for your sister and hope things get better for her. Let’s hope she gets her money very soon.
    Anna, I am very happy for your mom and anyone elase that this group has helped. It sounds like the sisterhood is alive and well in your area.
    jj

    Comment by javajune | January 12, 2009

  12. […] about being tempted to join a gifting circle of friends and since then we’ve had a confession from a woman who joined a gifting circle in her area.  I would like to open the floor (sofa) up for questions, […]

    Pingback by Gifting Circle Madness « Javajune’s Blog | January 26, 2009

  13. […] “I can’t believe I gave our vacation fund to a group of women who promised me friendship and easy money. I met this stranger in the McDonald’s parking lot and handed her an envelope  with 5k of my families savings inside. I knew very little about her, only that she was a friend of my neighbors and sounded very persuasive on the phone. She said this was totally legal and not a pyramid scheme. Why then, did we have to meet in the Micky D’s parking lot and why did I hand her 5k in cash in an unmarked envelope. I didn’t get a receipt or even her phone number for that matter, she had called me.” Read the rest of her story right  here. […]

    Pingback by I’m Alive but Still Crazy « Javajune’s Blog | February 10, 2009

  14. Great blog!!
    i know what you mean.:( SOrry!!

    Comment by Heather | May 24, 2010

  15. family vacations in a nice tropical country would be very very nice ‘-.

    Comment by Fridge Freezers | December 1, 2010

  16. I really think anybody professing their love to giving circles should do their homework. It doesn’t take more than a Google search to see how many women, and men have been scammed by these types of Ponzi schemes. Even if you are in the receiving end (getting your 40K) you should look out for the well-being of your so called sisters/brothers and stop to make a quick buck out of them.

    Besides being illegal in many states, I believe it is morally wrong to take desperate women and men’s hard earned money just to make a quick return. Just do the math. It is improbable that all the women/men at the bottom buying-in, with a $5k gift, would ever get their money back, or 40k for that matter (Check out the website below for more info). After a while you have to ask yourself how many people do I have to convince to join in order for me to get the big prize. Rather, how many people do I have to swindle to get any money at all?

    I only write this because I am sad to say that a good friend from my past asked me to join one of her circles, and from the moment she explained her amazing opportunity I just knew it was a scam. Although, I love her and respect my friend it pains me to know she would ask me to join such a tiresome “money grabbing cult.” Believe it or not, it is a cult, because you don’t make any money unless you have other women join. But, what about those women that can’t get anyone to join? What happens to their dreams and aspirations – their family vacation? How can you live knowing that they are 5k poorer, or in debt because you got them in. Sure, maybe the weekly conference calls with other amazing women is worth 5k to you, but it is my experience that true sisterhood should not cost a penny.

    http://www.crimes-of-persuasion.com/Crimes/InPerson/MajorPerson/pyramid_clubs.htm

    Comment by Sandra | July 1, 2013


Leave a Reply

