Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

My Best Friend is a Drug Addict

Please welcome Jenny to the sofa.

I don’t know what to do! I guess every person has to live their own life, but I’m afraid hers is spinning out of control. My friend has serious credit card debt. She keeps applying for student loans and uses the money to support her habits and numerous plastic surgeries. She suffers from depression. This girl just can’t catch a break. I believe the cocaine, Ecstasy and marijuana are all used to mask what feelings may arise. I’m always afraid to hang out with her or engage in a serious conversation because I don’t know if she’s cracked out or just being herself. She is not the same girl I became friends with years ago. Maybe I should call the show intervention!

Junie: Jenny it is obvious that you care about your friend. It would great if you could help her but she has to want to be helped. Keep up the positive influence and maybe she will come around. Good Luck.

jj

December 18, 2008 - Posted by | nasty habits, secrets, should be illegal | , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Interesting blog and premise. I found you through Ali, who is someone I respect. I’m bookmarking you and once my hellish work schedule ends, I will have plenty to say! Good blog!

    Comment by Enemy of the Republic | December 18, 2008

  2. honestly, if this girl keeps getting loans approved, she’s actually catching breaks all over the place, but throwing the ‘breaks’ away on drugs, etc. i can’t see any way you could help her until she (like jj said) realizes she really wants help…& don’t loan her any money!

    Comment by libby | December 18, 2008

  3. Well this is going to be hard. You are going to have a difficult time convincing an addict that they need help. They can’t see the mess they are in. All they are focused on if feeding the bottomless pit that is their addiction because it takes the pain away for a short time. I have no doubt your friend is trying to mask or escape some very deep inner trauma. There are some very serious emotional things going on here with her.

    Sometimes a person like this needs to hit rock bottom before seeing they need help. But that can be a long fall and very dangerous.

    I am for an intervention. Doing this is hard and there may be a lot of people who may not want to get involved but it could be a very important step in getting your friend to know there is a serious problem.

    Please keep in mind that your friend will resist, relapse and go through more disasters before things get better but it is still worth a shot in my opinion.

    Comment by Ricardo | December 19, 2008


Leave a Reply

