Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

My Lies Could Get Me Canned

Please welcome Tom to the sofa.

I am in way over my head. I lied on my resume just to get the job and it worked. I said that I had experience in certain computer programs that I do not. I claimed to have a master’s degree but I never even graduated from college. I claimed to have balanced an office budget, calculated payroll and the list goes on and on. My lies are starting to catch up to me. I have been asked to fill in for a department head while she is on maternity leave and I have no f-ing idea what I’m doing.

I needed the job, so I thought it would be okay to embellish my resume just a little. Well, my just a little ended up to be a lot but it did get me the job. Now my competence is being called into question and I look plain stupid. There is no way that I can just tell the truth because I will lose my job  (my house, my family) for sure.  I’m drowning because I can’t swim. Somebody please throw me a life raft!

Junie: You have found yourself up a creek without a paddle. I think many people do what you did but never get called on it. Times are tough out there keep doggie paddling and maybe you’ll make it out of the pool. (Sorry for the word play- I couldn’t resist)

jj

December 19, 2008 - Posted by | bad boys, confessions, secrets | , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. how in the world did you pull this off? sorry…couldn’t resist…maybe you could ask your supervisor if you can sit with the dept head so she can explain her job & how she does it, because you want everything to run exactly the way it does when she’s there, because she does such a good job, you want to do that well too!? best of luck to you, & learn everything you can!!

    Comment by libby | December 19, 2008

  2. Tom I think we all have been guilty of padding our resumes here and there at some point but this was a bit too much. There is padding and there is flat out lying. Don’t do the latter. Use the former at a minimum. As Libby pointed out many people never get called on it so they get away with it. Don’t assume you’ll be that lucky for your own well being. The risk is not worth it. Don’t go crazy with the resume like that anymore. Be honest.

    Now here’s the silver lining in all of this: the lies are becoming real world job experiences for you. So you are failing now but learning in the long run. There will be a time where you will be able to put these skills down as honest to goodness experience.

    You’re getting a baptism by fire. Some may say you got what you asked for. You can look at it as a punishment or opportunity. Try to see this as an awkward and embarrassing opportunity to better yourself. Also ask others for help like Libby suggests. But ask it in a way that makes it seem like you want to do it the way the current company does it. This could give you some cover. Whatever happens, use it as a chance to learn as much as you can.

    And like I said, don’t lie on the resume like that again. Who you really are and your true experience will go much further than fancy titles and degrees in more situations than you think. Get use to being of the mind set that who you really are is enough for many great jobs out there.

    Comment by Ricardo | December 19, 2008


Leave a Reply

