Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Grandma’s Dead; Who Spiked the Punch?

Please welcome Rachael to the sofa.

The holidays always remind me of a few years back when I hosted the family Christmas. I put so much work and detail into the party right down to the punch recipe. It was delicious but deadly. I forgot to mention that it was spiked heavily.  Before I knew it, Grandma Bea was smashed. I’d seen her tipping back a couple glasses of punch, but thought oh well a little happy juice won’t kill her. Boy was I wrong. She fell and broke her hip and was never the same after that. Only my brother and I knew that she was drunk. Most of the family was drinking beer or wine and didn’t even know the punch was spiked. My brother agreed to keep quiet about the fact that grandma’s little mishap was all my fault. She died several months later.  I feel terribly guilty about the fact that I was responsible for her death and never owned up to it. This is me singing the holiday blues.

Junie: That’s a sad Holiday story and probably one we could all learn from. I don’t think your confession would make her death any less painful for anyone. I hope you can let go of some guilt, concentrate on the good memories and enjoy the season.

jj

December 20, 2008 - Posted by | confessions, family woes, secrets | , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. rachael, that is a sad, sad holiday story…I’m sorry for this. Please don’t keep feeling guilty over Christmas because of this…honestly, I doubt that she would want to see your holidays ruined because of her! If it were me, I’d just keep it to myself. Like JJ said, it would do nobody any good to share it…be well…

    Comment by libby | December 20, 2008

  2. I’m very sorry and I send you out my deepest condolences.

    I know this may be difficult to accept but I don’t think you should carry this guilt and I don’t think you killed your grandmother. Even if you kept the punch spiking secret, there is no way you could have known something this terrible would happen. I think you saw her having a wonderful time and just wanted her to enjoy herself.

    She was with family, I’m sure no one would have let her drive if she was still driving. The occasion must have felt very safe. If it were my late grandmother I would have smiled and told the others at the party to let her have a good time.

    You didn’t set out to hurt her. You didn’t dump poison into the punch. You dumped booze. Others were drinking as well.

    I must agree with Libby. I don’t think she would want you holding this over your head for the rest of your life. Please don’t let it tear you down.

    Comment by Ricardo | December 21, 2008

  3. Oh my, that’s kinda sad. Sad that Bea is no longer with us. But, also sad that the writer holds onto this truth. Let the truth go. Free yourself. That’s what I say!

    Comment by Nilsa | December 21, 2008

  4. Thank you Libby, Ricardo and Nilsa for your sweet comments. I hope Rachael will stop by and see all of her wonderful supporters here in blog land.
    jj

    Comment by javajune | December 23, 2008


Leave a Reply

