Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

The Skeletons in My Closet are Rattling

Please welcome Celeste to the sofa.

I’m not sure how much longer I can keep my past a secret. I’m engaged to a wonderful man and our relationship is almost perfect. My boyfriend is wonderful and I know he loves me, but I’m not sure how he would feel if he knew what was lurking in my past. The past  isn’t pretty but I have really changed; I’m not that girl anymore. I don’t use drugs, date ex-cons, write bad checks, dabble in prostitution. My life was pretty low at one time.  My sinful acts were committed out of desperation with a bad ex-boyfriend leading the way. I would have done anything for him and I almost did. Things have changed in a big way for me since I fell in love with a good man. I attend church on a regular basis, hold down a good job, and obey the law.

My wedding is this summer and we plan to have children right away. I want to begin our marriage with honesty but I am so afraid that the truth will be a deal breaker.  He deserves to know the truth, but I’m not sure if the horror of my past is really that important to our furture? He loves who I am today. Is it so important that he know who I was before we met? I forgot to mention that I do have a record for passing bad checks and I’m quite sure it’ll surface one of these days. I just can’t decided how much, if anything, to tell him about my past. He is the best thing that ever happened to me and I don’t want to lose him. What would you do?

Junie: It’s hard to judge just how much you should reveal without knowing your boyfriend. Your legal record will affect your marriage when it comes to credit and could surface at any time. A confession about the arrest may be a good place to start and then gage how much more he can handle from there. Good luck my dear.

jj

December 28, 2008 - Posted by | confessions, secrets | , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. this is a tough one, celeste…i know how hard it’s been to change your life, and the reasons you want to keep your secrets, well, secret…but, if you’re going to have a future with this man, he deserves to know all of you. it sounds like you could sit down with him and tell him the truth about your past, and emphasize that it’s your past, not your future! you don’t want to start a relationship with lies, trust me.

    Comment by libby | December 29, 2008

  2. First off, no one is perfect. We have all messed up and done stupid things. While you did do those things that is not you right now. And from the looks of it, won’t ever be you again.

    I guess if I was with a woman long enough and trusted her then I would not have a problem with her telling me this. if it was the first date, I’d be worried. That’s too soon. If it’s years into a marriage, that is too late and would raise my suspicions. I think now is a good time to start bringing this up. If he loves you he will accept it and appreciate you all the more because you’ve come a very long way.

    Comment by Ricardo | December 30, 2008

  3. I agree with Libby and Ricardo, give this man a chance. He just might surprize you.
    jj

    Comment by javajune | December 30, 2008


Leave a Reply

