Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Southern Fried Secrets

Please welcome Caroline to the sofa.

When their disaster in the kitchen ruins the party I smile just a little. I don’t know when I got to be so mean. I was raised in the south with all the rules and manners of a proper southern girl, please and thank you were the name of the game. My family owned a popular inn and were famous for their hospitality and true southern cooking. I, being the oldest child of a large family inherited all of the family recipes and tricks of perfect entertaining.  My talents in the kitchen do not go unnoticed as I am very well known for being the perfect hostess. Family and friends quite often ask me for the family recipes and secret tricks. Instead of being a gracious southern girl and handing over the information, I always omit something  crucial or add an ingredient that will ruin the dish. This dirty little trick has ruined many dinner parties and family meals. I tell myself that I will quit but it never fails every time I do the same. I once sabotaged an entire rehearsal dinner that I was attending by leaving out the details for the secret sauce, to the mother of the groom. When the dinner was a complete flop I comforted her and said I can’t imagine what went wrong. I told her that maybe she should just leave the cooking for special occasions to me.

The legacy of a great cook and hostess are all I have and the fear of losing my status forces me to lie. This behavior totally defies everything I’ve learned while growing up in a proper southern family.  I’m not proud of my behavior but I don’t see a change coming anytime too soon.

Junie: I don’t think you would lose your culinary notoriety if you gave the correct information to others. I can follow the very same recipe for a dish my mother makes and still never even come close to the great taste of her food. I wouldn’t be surprised if a few of your friends are already aware of your dirty tricks.  Miss Manners would say being a good hostess goes much futher than the kitchen.

jj

January 2, 2009 - Posted by | confessions, nasty habits, secrets | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Great cooking has a lot more to do with who does it, and if they enjoy cooking, than the ingredients themselves! As junie said, i could have the same list of ingredients as a GOOD cook (who loves to cook!), and it just would not taste the same!!

    Comment by libby | January 2, 2009

  2. Libby,
    I wish I could be considered a good cook but it just ain’t happening here. The Southern Queen’s recipes would be safe with me. LOL
    jj

    Comment by javajune | January 5, 2009


Leave a Reply

