Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

I’m a Cat-killing Coward

Please welcome Raven to the sofa.

The other day while pulling out of my driveway on my way to work I heard a big thump. When I got out of the car I was horrified to see my neighbor’s cat squashed beneath my tires. I panicked and threw him into my truck. Then I stopped by an open field on my way to the office and buried him under a pile of brush. Why didn’t I do the neighborly thing and go next door to say I’m sorry but I accidentally killed your cat? Well, I’m new to the neighborhood and didn’t want to start off on the wrong foot. Besides it wouldn’t make Buttons any less dead, now would it? I did feel aweful  the next day when the neighborhood kids were putting up fliers and going door to door to see if anyone had seen him. I love animals and I do feel terrible but it was an accident.  I am such a coward.

Junie: You’re right Raven it was an accident and telling them wouldn’t bring Buttons back but it would give the owner some closure. They may keep looking for him for a long time.

jj

January 13, 2009 - Posted by | confessions, secrets | , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. yes, it was an accdent, & i know you’re sorry…but, if it would’ve been my cat, i’d have had a lot more respect for you if you would’ve done the honest thing & told me, no matter how bad it hurt.

    Comment by libby | January 13, 2009

  2. Obviously walking over to someone and telling them you killed their can’t by accident is a terrible thing and something I don’t want to do. But, as hard as it may be, the owners should know. You may even be shocked by how understanding they could be. However it could go the other way also. This is very hard to do and may be much harder now if you decide to tell them. But the story is now much worse because you hid the body.

    Comment by Ricardo | January 14, 2009


Leave a Reply

