Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

For the Love of Chocolate

Please welcome Yum Yummy to the sofa.

You may think this confession is silly but for me it’s more like owning up to an obsession. I’m sure many of you can relate to having a craving that creeps up out of nowhere and nags the hell out of you. My cravings are more like a freight train bearing down on me at full speed. I’m an overweight woman who is always on a diet. I stick to my diet quite well in public and even in front of my husband and children. My family and friends have a hard time understanding why I can’t lose weight. That’s because they don’t know my secret. I have a love, no more like an obsession, for anything chocolate. I dream in chocolate.  I even dress in chocolate colored clothes. My bedroom is chocolate brown. It is simply ridiculous how attracted I am to anything that reminds me of creamy milk chocolate. I eat more chocolate in one day than probably most of you consume all year.  I do it when no one is looking. I have a secret stash in my bedroom closet, in my bathroom vanity, in the glove compartment of my car and even in a locked desk drawer at work. I once hid a bag of mini bars in the back yard tool shed (it melted).   My cholesterol is out of control and I hate my fat rolls but I can’t stop myself. I believe it is more of an addiction or obsession, simular to smoking or drinking.  I should seek help but I’m embarrassed.  I don’t think most people would take it seriously. I think my obsession stems from being deprived of sugary snacks as a child.  It was almost impossible to get through this confession without running to the closet for a bite. I love chocolate!

Junie: First of all no confession is silly and you shouldn’t be embarrassed about your obsession. I’m sure food obsessions like yours are not that uncommon.  If you sought help from the right people, they should understand and be able to help you take control of your cravings. Good luck.

jj

January 18, 2009 - Posted by | confessions, nasty habits, secrets | , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. oh, good luck to you on beating this. or, at least getting help to control it! because, i believe, like jj, that if you get help from the right people, you’ll be able to live with this, and enjoy life once again.

    Comment by libby | January 19, 2009

  2. I think there are tons of people totally addicted to chocolate. You are not alone there. But too much of anything can be harmful so do seek out help as there could be loads of health complications involved. And I’d hate to see that.

    Comment by Ricardo | January 19, 2009


Leave a Reply

