Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

I May Be Joining a Cult

Junie takes a deep breath and stretches out on her sofa, The Velvet Lady, to let you in on a little secret. I have a confession to make and thought I would do it today in case you never hear from me again.

I have decided to attend a seminar this weekend and I’m a little nervous about it. The premise for this workshop is based on the movie The secret.  I saw an add for it one day after the Oprah show. Oprah and many other Hollywood celebs are into the teachings from the secret. The secret is really just the principles from “The Laws of Attraction” which states that the thoughts you put out as energy attract those very things back  into your life. Many people who follow The Laws of Attraction use vision boards and other things to help them. I already have a vision board and follow some of  the basic principles.

vision-board

But I’m a little nervous about going to this workshop and amercing myself into this concept. I am kind of easy and that scares me- a lot. I’m a bit of a free-spirit that doesn’t always look both ways before she cross the street.  I don’t want to become part of a cult or be brainwashed, even if this cult includes some very cool people like Oprah and Jenny McCarthy.img_0572-3 Don’t worry I’m not going to shave my head. The whole new-wave concept is kind of a hippie chick or gypsy girl kind of thing.  I am kind of a hippie,  maybe more like gypsy, sort of girl. Minus the whole pot-smoking nudity thing. I don’t need my head any further into the clouds than it already is and I get cold very easily.

Once again this crazy girl is trying something out of the ordinary and managed to talk a few people into going along. For some reason I have an easy time convincing people to follow me even after the many scary situations I’ve led them to, in the past. I am a little nervous about the workshop but I’m also very excited.  I’ve done my homework and I have my homemade journal (pictured above) all ready to take notes.  When I get back I’ll give you all a little update unless I’ve been reloacted to a desolate ranch out west or better yet some Hollywood mansion (at least they’d have internet access). If I make it back I will let you in on The Secret.   Below is a little youtube clip from the movie The Secret.

jj

January 23, 2009 - Posted by | confessions, me | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. Good lord!!! I’m not sure what to make of this. It’s like Scientology where it has some very famous and respected people up at the top but the average person never gets anywhere near them. Also, if rumors are true, the average person winds up spending LOTS of money and is slowly conned into slave labor because they are kept in heavy debt. Now I don’t know if those Scientology stories are true but there’s a lot of those stories out there.

    Is this more of the same? I would not be shocked if there was some catch to it all. The scary part is if they make it hard for you to leave. If they are too aggressive then you will know something is up. If that is the case, get out. don’t worry about being polite, they will exploit that. Just leave.

    Watching the movie you have attached has set off numerous warning bells. They are going to hit you up for lots of money. Just my hunch. It will be CDs, books, DVDs and more workshops. And really, if there were a secret, it would still be one. There is too much power and leverage to lose by giving it away. These people need “little people” to stay at the top.

    Really this is about something you can read up on for free. It’s 2 things. First, look up self fulfilling prophecy. Second, look up learned helplessness. These concepts are nothing new. They are just adding buzz words to it.

    Final note, I once had a gypsy like/ Hippie girlfriend who liked to be naked all the time and I didn’t mind.

    There, that’s my confession. 🙂

    Comment by Ricardo | January 23, 2009

  2. Yes it is a little out there and It kind of reminded me of the whole scientology thing when I first read about it. Maybe I should wear track shoes just in case I need to make a quick get away. This should be interesting. I’ll be sure to leave my checkbook and credit cards at home. I’m sure I could learn all of it for free but I love the whole spiritual energy thing of people learning together. I told you I was a bit of a free spirited gypsy. What happened to your hippie/gypsy girlfriend?
    jj

    Comment by javajune | January 23, 2009

  3. oh, please, junie, be CAREFUL!! first of all…if there really IS a ‘secret’, they’re not giving it away for free, any more than you or i, or ricardo would! so DO NOT give any $$ to them!! it’s almost as scary as the ‘gifting circle’ crap! oh, sorry, maybe i’m just greedy, and i rely on trusted bank officers to help me with investments, not “friends” from the ‘net, or 2nd or 3rd hand friends of a friend!! you’re right, leave your cash, credit cards, and debit cards at home!! it could be fun, but it could be a scam!! no more $$ to them after you’ve paid for the class…& keep your eyes & ears open wide. & your mouth closed!! (or we’ll have to comne & drag your ass out!!)

    Comment by libby | January 23, 2009

  4. junie, read this first? “http://www.salon.com/mwt/feature/2007/03/05/the_secret/”

    Comment by libby | January 23, 2009

  5. She and I were long distance and she was younger so we were at different points of our lives and she did a few nasty things that really set me off so it all ended. I have got over it but she still hates my guts which is funny because she’s the one who started with me! But I left my mark I guess.

    Comment by Ricardo | January 23, 2009

  6. Thanks Libby I may have to send for you. No really I’m sure I will be fine, I always am. I couldn’t find the link you listed. All I got was file not found. See ya when I get, back sunday I hope.
    jj

    Comment by javajune | January 23, 2009

  7. ok, junie, be careful!! [hugs]!

    Comment by libby | January 23, 2009

  8. NO JJ, IT’S A TRAP!!!! JJ!!!!

    Comment by Ricardo | January 24, 2009


Leave a Reply

