Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Rant Until Your Hearts Content

Dear Sofa Diary readers,

It has come to my attention that some of you don’t have secrets to share but you do have a lot to say (rant) .  So I would like to invite those of you who are pissed off, fed up or just like to complain, to let us in on what is keeping you up at night or is just plain driving you nuts. With all that said I have a little something that I would like to get off my chest. So here goes Junie with our very first rant.

Okay, I am a modern girl. I use all of the latest technology, cellphones, computers, email, digital camera and this blog but I still know how to talk to someone without the latest gadgets. Why is it that so many of our family and friends can’t  pick up the phone or deliver really important news in person. Do you really think it’s appropraite to email or text message the news that someone is dying? Or email me the night before your Christmas party to let me know what you need me to bring. I may not look at my email before I leave and I really don’t want to find out that someone is dying via email or text message. Would it really kill you to pick up the phone and call me or better yet deliver that kind of news in person?

What do you all think.  Has modern technology gone too far? Have we all forgotten how to comunicate with one another? Does this drive anyone else crazy or is it just me? Tell me what drives you over the edge.

JJ

January 27, 2009 - Posted by | family woes, Hello Miss Manners, me, rants | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. I had an employee one time who thought he could text in sick! haha He soon learned that texting is not proper communication.

    I think the reason people email or text about important things is… well they may want to avoid any discomfort.

    After all most people are pretty selfish. Life is all about their comfort. 😉

    Comment by mssc54 | January 27, 2009

  2. Thank you mss54. I think you nailed it with the discomfort. Your texting story made me laugh.
    jj

    Comment by javajune | January 27, 2009

  3. Text messaging has become the ultimate cop out. It’s so easy and efficient that people just do it to deliver rough news. I’m guilty of it too now and again. But the worst is when me and a former best friend had a fight over some ex girlfriend he hadn’t seen in over 10 years. He wanted me to tell her off 10 years later at a party we were at while he was off preparing to get married. She and I made out and he would not talk to me about the issue except through text messaging!!!

    Comment by Ricardo | January 28, 2009

  4. damn, ricardo, i see why he’s not your best friend now…but i can top that story…when tif got home from her honeymoon, she got fired…by text message…worst yet….it was a relative…whose wife was maid of honor at her wedding the week b4!

    Comment by libby | January 29, 2009

  5. Great stories Ricardo and Libby. In the future all our work will be done by text message. No need to leave your house. lol
    jj

    Comment by javajune | January 29, 2009


Leave a Reply

