Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Leap of faith and the Courage to Fly

empty-roomHave you ever felt like you were stuck in one place- just like a fly trapped on a piece of flypaper? A time when you could see your surroundings and knew where you wanted to go but just couldn’t get there. Have you ever just taken that leap of faith no matter what it cost, even if it meant ripping yourself free of the sticky paper and losing a wing or tiny piece of yourself? Did you do it? Was it worth it?

It has been one year since I did just that. I was working in a place that was killing me. It wasn’t the job so much as the people. They were life suckers- you know the kind – hate themselves therefore can’t stand to see anyone else happy. The place was toxic and I was becoming a person that I didn’t recognize.  So…. I closed my eyes, cut the cord and then took a giant leap. It was so painful and really scary but it has been an amazing year. No, I am not technically, gainfully employed,yet, and I haven’t made any huge strides. But I think I know myself a little better and I’ve explored life so much more. The passing of a year has made me reflect on what I really want. It has forced a question of reality; what can I achieve? I would like to say if you believe it -you can achieve it. Hmmm is that really true? I guess I have to say that I’m still a work in progress but I have no regrets.

Share with me a leap that you took or would like to take. Tell me what your inspiration was or is. Where did you get your courage? We have to be brave in every tiny step or giant leap we take. Have faith in the universe and show us brave spirit. I’m looking for a little boost of inspiration in your stories to get me over that one year hump. Inspire me with your dreams. I am daring you to unleash your passion. Tell me what your journey felt like- Inspire me.

jj

February 11, 2009 - Posted by | confessions, me, rants | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I can so relate to your post about ripping loose from a toxic workplace. Mine was a ministry/job in which the people were extremely dysfunctional. Not only did I lose a wing, but something inside me just plain died.
    I am just beginning a little bit to recover. It has only been 4 months since the big meltdown during which I finally crashed and burned. I can say that the Lord has used the experience to cause me to grow. I have a new job now. It isn’t a ministry, and I miss that, but I feel that the Lord is saying, “Church R Us” and I don’t have to be within those four walls to be serving the church. It is freeing. I am starting to recover my joy, which I thought possibly was gone forever…

    Comment by journal4rhea | February 11, 2009

  2. You know my nutty story.

    Comment by Ricardo | February 13, 2009

  3. I am so sorry to hear about your trouble but so glad you are now free.
    jj

    Comment by javajune | February 18, 2009

  4. Ricardo,
    Your story is not too nutty but it is intersting.
    jj

    Comment by javajune | February 18, 2009


Leave a Reply

