Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Trouble in the Hen House

Please welcome Shirley to the sofa.

My story took place about 40 years ago. I was married with two children. My husband was in the military but had served his time so we moved back home. We bought a little house three doors away from his parents chicken farm. He worked on the family farm while I stayed home with the kids. I knew our marriage wasn’t perfect and had a feeling that he was keeping secrets  but the truth was more than I expected. He started staying out all night and going to work on days that I knew he had off. But times were different back then and you just didn’t confront your husband. A few years past and a couple more children arrived before he left me for good.

I managed to get a job and survived with a little financial help from his parents. I lost so much more than a husband when he left. My so called friends felt the need to confess their indiscretions to me. They told me how sorry they were that  they had fallen pray to his seduction. There was a lot more than counting eggs going on in the hen house. His escapades came to an end when my so called friend Marylou caught him fooling around with a new girl named Sarah and threatened to tell. Thats when Carl rejoined the Navy and ran off to the west coast with Sarah. 

The biggest blow to my world was learning that Marylou, Carla, and Debbie were my friends for the sake of spending time with my husband. They had all fooled around with Carl  in the egg house on numerous occasions. Debbie even claimed that he was her first and that she’d lost her virginity to my husband! I hated them all and couldn’t understand why they insisted on telling me the truth, now. I never stepped foot in the egg house again and when I was financially able, I moved to another town that was far from the bad memories.

That part of my life is over but I desperately want my husband to admit his indiscretions to our children. I don’t know why it’s so important to me but it is.  I would feel vindicated for all the years the kids thought that their big Navy Captain Dad was a hero, only I knew better.  I didn’t want to break their little hearts back then, so I stayed silent.

Junie: You deserve vindication and your kids should know what you did for them.  But this may be a little like your friends confessing that they slept with your husband in the egg house. It will only generate bad feelings and ruin relationships. You were a good Mom and deserve a thank you but I’m not sure if his confession is the best way to get it.

jj

February 23, 2009 - Posted by | bad boys, confessions | , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. oh shirley, this is awful! i can only imagine the pain you got when your ‘friends’ unburdened themselves to you. junie’s got a great point, though…i’m in a kinda similar situation, & as tempting as it is, i know i need to not bring my hatred for her dad into my relationship with my daughter…i keep it to myself for the most part, or talk to my friends, not my girl.

    Comment by libby | February 23, 2009

  2. I don’t know if I could keep quiet about what I knew or my feelings but I would like to think so.
    jj

    Comment by javajune | February 24, 2009


Leave a Reply

