Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Wanderlust

img_0315Searching for the perfect items to feather my nest. This calls for a road trip; one of the best kind. The is the sort of trip where you let intuition be your guide and take you to that perfect place. A place that’s not too generic but down to earth and rich with things that were once loved in another life. Art with a purpose and gadgets with a past. Can there be such a place? I believe there can. It is due north and then a hard turn to the west. It will lead me past small towns and wide open pastures.  Just when I think I can travel no more, the road will end at my true north and lead me to a place where decorated dreams come true and fantastic treasures await.

 

img_1379-2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yes, Yes, oh yes, a treasure hunt of the best kind. This hunt will take just the right light and a sensible pair of shoes. I will go with an open mind and without a plan. The right item will call my name as it stands out among the crowd.

amsterdam-deer-2

Strange music will fill my ears as the message becomes clear. Perfect is not a person or place but a feeling that comes from within. img_1340-2A true north that can’t be seen. Although my trunk remains empty and my pocketbook poor, I am filled with inspiration and images to keep. The perfect look of a cozy nest is captured by the lens and tucked away for just the right time and space.

img_1362

I never venture very far without the comfort of knowing that at any time I can whip out my camera and make a memory last forever. My dreams are endless but- no matter- someday I will capture them all, until then this girl and her camera are off on another road trip.

 

img_1395-2

Every once in a while I feel that wanderlust creep in; this is a feeling that won’t be ignored. I am compelled to obey as I travel astray. 

The truth is this:  today my travel is limited to cyberspace. These images were taken on a junk trip last spring but I have that itch to go again. Soon, very soon.

Most of the items I saw were beyond my means. If I had deep pockets………well, then I’d need a bigger house. I did manage to pick up a few things. The first image above, is an angel statue that I placed under a cloche, along with a few treasures from the sea I’ve collected over the years. Speaking of the sea, it’s getting close to that time of year again. My bags are almost packed.

 

img_2262-2

 

 

 

 

 

 Flip-flop fever is beginning to set in and I can hardly wait. This winter has been way too long for everyone!!! Don’t ya think?

Have a wonderful Thursday. Take a trip, even if it is only in your mind, sometimes those are the best kind, anyway 😉

jj

March 26, 2009 - Posted by | me, rants | , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. haha, junie, my first thought was, “OMG! Her daughter’s driving!!
    No, this is exactly the reason i love to go hang out at the antique store! Everything has a story, sometimes it screams it to you, mostly it’s just a whisper.

    Comment by libby | March 26, 2009

  2. You and I could junk shop together just fine. I love the stories that found objects tell. It’s simply magic to my ears.
    jj

    Comment by javajune | March 29, 2009

  3. Spring can’t come soon enough!!! Geez, I want it to end. It’s unbearable.

    Comment by Ricardo | March 29, 2009

  4. oh wow – those suitcases are intriguing!! Thanks for your kind comment on my orchid photographs!

    Comment by Maria-Thérèse | March 31, 2009

  5. Welcome Maria-Therese,
    I love the trunks and suit cases. They were stacked in front of a garden house displaying exotic butterflys. I would have loved to take some home- the trunks not the butterflies.
    jj

    Comment by javajune | April 1, 2009


Leave a Reply

