Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Same beginning, But new ending

“Nobody can go back and start a new beginning but anyone can start today and make a new ending.” -Maria Robinson

img_2679-2

This quote is the perfect thought for spring.  I don’t think that the beginning of the year should be January 1st when everything lies asleep or in a dormant state. It should be more like April first when the earth is regenerating or starting over. Bird chirping weather is my favorite time of year. It’s the time of year when you can create that special place to go and escape from reality. Perhaps a little corner garden to connect with nature or a cozy nook to sip some tea and get lost in a good book. Somewhere off the beaten path, where beauty abounds and nobody knows your name.  I found so many places just like that during my island trip. It was truly perfect and I will miss it. The thing I’ll miss most about visiting a tropical island, aside from the warm weather, is the feeling of wide open spaces. I walked across the beach with the sounds of the ocean crashing in on the sand and the Terns taunting one another over a tiny crab in the surf, but then the sounds were hushed and a silence fell over my ears and mind as I entered the thick vines and trees that framed the shell crushed path (see the pic in this post) leading me to the cottage.

img_2861-2

I have so many, too many, thoughts and inspirations floating through this tiny head of mine. I think I am in need of an internal secretary, to start labeling and filing all of my ideas so they can be easily retrieved as needed. Instead all of my thoughts and inspirations are running about, bumping into one another, while jumping up and down in pursuit of my attention. This forces an automatic shut down or mental crash and then nothing gets done. Can anyone out there relate?

Some of the crazy ideas running rampant in my head are creating a dream garden in my yard that is centered among the trees with a gypsy tent and twinkling lights strung over head.

dream_garden

And then… the entrepreneurial side of me dreams of a successful business that feels like play.  I saw just that on a past visit to Nantucket Island and said, “why can’t I do that?” A young girl was selling flowers from a vintage truck on the side of the road. It was so chic and quaint at the same time. It looked like the perfect business for a day dreaming girl who loves flowers and wide open spaces.

flower-truck 

So you see it gets pretty crowded up there at times, especially when you consider the permanent residents that dwell there full time- like the neurons who claim to be a writer from time to time and my creative side that must construct little trinkets in the late night hours and of course, the usual suspects like, logic (yes I have that) and reasoning kinds of stuff.

 Oh well, enough day dreaming for today. It’s time to get busy and take care of a few much neglected tasks around the house.  Don’t get me wrong I am very thankful for everything… but that day dreaming girl is always close-by and refuses to be denied. Yes it’s back to reality and my pretty normal life. 

But before we part ways for the day, I would like to leave you with this beautiful sunset from my trip.

img_2751-3

Clearly I wasn’t the only one enjoying the beautiful weather.

I hope you have a bird chirping kind of day.

xo-jj

April 22, 2009 - Posted by | me, Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. i LOVE that quote, junie! i’m going to make that my quote to say to myself every day when i wake up!! and i agree, april 1st would be a much better day for a “new year’s” resolution!!

    Comment by libby | April 22, 2009

  2. Libby, It really is the perfect quote for a New year. “Cheers” I say to a better year as I tip up my cherry coke.
    jj

    Comment by javajune | April 22, 2009

  3. I can already tell I’m going to keep coming back to your blog – very interesting stuff going on here! (oh great – now I have to try even harder on my blod) 🙂

    Comment by Mike | April 22, 2009

  4. *blog d’oh!

    Comment by Mike | April 22, 2009

  5. Seriously, I always have mad ideas running around in my head. Especially movie and book plots. It sometime can be overwhelming. I do my best to write them out of my head so I can get some peace.

    Comment by Shell | April 22, 2009

  6. Thanks Mike come back anytime.

    Shell, Writing them down is very helpful. For some reason once it’s on paper you can let it go- sometimes.
    jj

    Comment by javajune | April 24, 2009

  7. But those are the best kinds of jobs for some people. the ones where you can kind of be your own boss and daydream. How does one get these jobs? I guess you have to start one for yourself. Be your own boss and use your own imagination. why not start a thing like that for yourself?

    Comment by Ricardo | April 24, 2009


Leave a Reply

