Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Impact and Impulse

img_2875

(Gazing ball on my porch, reflecting me and my front door- it felt right)

So i took this picture last night about an hour before sunset and it evoked a feeling in me. Well it was more like one of those questioning or pondering kind of things I do when I’m alone. The thing I was wondering about was this- what impacts you and I to do the things we do? Let me make this simple… what is it that makes you act on an impulse one day but play it safe the next? I am very impulsive most of the time, especially when shopping- definitely not a good thing these days.

 I get in a certain mood when everything just feels right and then watch out because I’m ready to try almost anything. But what is it that makes me feel this way? I think it’s sometimes the right music, a seducing scent like Jo Malone’s Pomagranite Noir– can’t get enough of that- or maybe vintage colors that are warm and just melt one into the other, trigers it.  Yeah, it’s that allure thing again.

polaroid

(Bougainvillea vine on my cottage deck)

I’m not sure what it is but I know the feeling when something  is just right at the moment and so I act on it. It doesn’t always look or feel the same a little later. But you know when something is right even if it’s only right for the moment. Well this is the story of my life. yes I live for the moment but I love it. My life is one big series of moments just strung together by a crazy thread. Everything doesn’t always fit so nice and neatly but that’s okay. I enjoy everyday some more than others. Everything doesn’t have to make sense, well at least I hope not because if it does then I clearly missed the boat a long time ago. I always have several kettles on to boil, or irons in the oven, so to speak. Sometimes I roll with one for a while and leave it in the dust and then try another for a while. It does get a bit confusing at times but loving what you do is what it’s all about. 

You may be wondering when I’m going to get to the point of this ramble but that’s just it- there is no point- just rambling.

The weather is changing and the birds are chirping- gotta love that- go out and enjoy it!

jj

April 23, 2009 - Posted by | me, rants, Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. I feel living in the moment is a good thing. Your more in tune with yourself and have more adventures than people who don’t. I read the story and your experience about seeing a friend pass. The mind does protect us, so we can deal with things when we are ready. Which is what happened to you.

    Comment by Shell | April 23, 2009

  2. junie, don’t worry, you know that the most brilliant ideas come when we’re rambling…heck, that’s probably what they were doing when they came up with the idea for the internet! & life on the spur of the moment is the only way to live it…if you’re not living life on the edge…you’re taking up too much room!

    Comment by libby | April 23, 2009

  3. I really like that first picture of yours. Anyway, don’t worry about rambling…

    Comment by Terra | April 24, 2009

  4. It’s alright to let these things out. Impulsiveness is something we all have and it happens. Just don’t go blowing through wads of cash in a gifting circle.

    Comment by Ricardo | April 24, 2009

  5. I would say that you are a random/abstract thinker/learner…like ME! No worries. We make the world colorful. I married a concrete/sequential thinker…and for thirty years it is HE who has been driven mad, not me! I just float through life!

    Comment by Deborah | April 24, 2009

  6. Shell, Thanks for the supportive comments

    Libby, I hope I come up with something brilliant one of these rambling moments

    Terra, Thanks for the support and your visit

    Ricardo, I avoided the gifting circle narrowly, maybe I have more restrant that I thought. Naaah, it didn’t offer any instant gradification.

    Deb, We would have a lot of fun together, I can tell. You and your honey sound like the perfect pair.

    Thanks all…jj

    Comment by javajune | April 26, 2009


Leave a Reply

