Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Potions, intoxication and a little magic

 

img_2913-old-negative A very long time ago when the queen of day dreams was just a little girl she inspired to be a perfumist. This caused a little trouble and fight for time in the lou as she locked the door and drew a bath. She was indulging her creative side by mixing potions (Mom’s perfume) and such (sister’s body splash) until she got the scent just right. After an hour or so of listening to a little begging at her door, she would emerge with a secret bottle of magic tucked in her robe. It was the perfect lotion or just right shampoo with a little creative magic bubbling inside.

 This day dreaming queen is once again playing perfumist but this time it’s no secret. She is mixing and plotting to get the alluring scent just right. A little sandalwood here and lime blossom there, drop of geranium and hint of citrus to freshen the air. She ‘ll get it right, you wait and see. How could she not with inspirations such as the sea swept breezes and tantalizing blossoms that grow along side a shell covered beach, occupied by modern beach babes drenched in a magical aroma of girl moxie.

 

The final concoction will be a control batch for the Island Girl’s Bohemian blend diffusers.  Each bottle will be hand mixed and unique. The fun has just begun and the aroma is making her a little giddy. She’s searching for a scent that creates the perfect mood of “come hear boy” and “dreamy inspiration”.

img_2821-2-vintage1 It will take the perfect blend of bubbling magic to please the nose and pass the test. Scent is the strongest trigger of memory, they say. I do believe it’s true. Have you ever entered a room that immediately threw you into memories of the past but you didn’t know why or how? It’s amazing how that happens.

(Ooops I’m wearing the same pink striped suit in this pic as the one from  last year’s beach pic in an earlier post. Geez maybe I am thrifty)😉

The spiciness of a woodsy scent blended with a pop of floral and a spritz of citrus takes me back to my days of childhood freedom- I don’t know why. 

What aromas make you feel, remember or dream?

I am impacted most by the  aroma, the color of  light or the music in a room or place. Sometimes it takes me by surprise and I’m totally unaware of what’s taking place while these elements work their magic behind the scene. Next time you enter a room,  pay attention to the way it makes you feel.  You might be surprised by the culprit of your impressions. Atmosphere is everything!!!

This is what’s playing in the background of my little bohemian laboratory today. Take a moment and listen with me.

and this…

I hope insight, inspiration, moxie and of a course a little magic follow you through your day.

from my spirit to yours -jj

April 28, 2009 - Posted by | me, rants | , , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. junie, a perfumist is the perfect thing for you to do!! i know i never met you in person, but, i can tell by what you write that you’ll be able to bottle something that smells like what’s in your head at the time! and that is a true talent!

    Comment by libby | April 28, 2009

  2. Libby you are always so sweet. Hopefully I will have at least a bottle or two for sale in my Etsy shop by the end of the week. Now if I can convey the alluring scent well enough to make a sale I’ll be all set.
    xo-jj

    Comment by javajune | April 28, 2009

  3. I still think you need to make a special beer.

    Comment by Ricardo | April 29, 2009

  4. So Ricardo what would one put in this special beer?
    jj

    Comment by javajune | April 29, 2009

  5. MMMmmmmm,I remember the scent of petunias growing along the side of my Polish grandparents house in the summer in New Jersey. I grow them in the desert now, but they are a winter flower here. Best thing about the scent is that it reminds me of those immigrants who spoke broken English…my grandmother would yell at my grandfather to clean the bench for my brother and I to sit on…she would leave, he would wipe the bench, all the while mumbling in Polish. We thought it was pretty funny. **blows kisses** Deborah

    Comment by Deborah | April 29, 2009

  6. Deborah, Love your story. I could picture it all in my head. Do you speak any Polish?
    jj

    Comment by javajune | April 29, 2009

  7. JJ, to answer your question, do I speak Polish…My Mom only taught me the cuss words!

    Comment by Deborah | April 29, 2009

  8. Deb, that is so cool. Good for your Mom, the cus words are very important!
    jj

    Comment by javajune | April 30, 2009


Leave a Reply

