Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Seduced by a naked mango

Seduce: to lead astray usually by persuasion or false promises.

img_2960

Have you been seduced lately? I bet you have without even knowing it. Just recently while I was flipping through a food magazine, I came across a gorgeous picture of a mango.  The ad said,” eat mangoes naked.” Maybe they taste better when you’re naked and the juice drips off your chin, runs down your chest and then settles in your naval.  I don’t know. Okay, I really don’t like mangoes, mango juice is pretty tasty but the fruit by itself just isn’t my thing. But this mango looked so appealing, so fresh, and juicy and well, I bought one. I started to eat it with my clothes on and then I tried the naked thing to see if it tasted any better-no better just sticky. Mangoes are kind of a sexy fruit and eating them naked didn’t seem like a too much of a stretch. The truth is I’m very easily seduced. I like the words sexy,  naked, seduction; what can I say, I’m a hopeless romantic, I told you , it’s in my profile.

Where is all of this talk about seduction and mangoes leading to: I wanted to rant a little about the subtle changes I’ve seen due to the current recession. Changes are necessary but I’m not sure I like what I see. I know my view is a bit obscure and probably something that most of you haven’t thought about but what would you expect from Junie?  The real question should be, “what does being seduced and eating mangoes in the nude have to do with our current economy?”  It sounds like a bit of a stretch but let me explain.

 The allure of the stage or the layout of your favorite magazine, the soulful sounds of  music or the vivid colors on canvas: it all has a way of drawing us in with it’s quiet seduction. We are seduced everyday, everywhere and in many ways. It could be the cool sophistication of a pair of designer jeans or that sexy sports car that says, “I’m successful” maybe even the comfort of religion and a promise of heaven. We see it and want it without question. We are so easily influenced and unequivocally seduced by the mere look of perfection or the smell of success. Nobody starts out wanting to be a store clerk or part of the roadside crew. We go for the allure of becoming an artist, a doctor, a lawyer, a fireman, or an actor. When in reality the job of a clerk or roadside worker is real and honest.  A lust for fashion and a quest for fame starts very early and is encouraged by our parents, our teachers and strangers too. The question, “what do you want to be when you grow up” starts before we reach the age of understanding. 

Is all of this about to change with the current condition of the economy and the feeling of disgust over greed and excess? Should it? If we settle for what will put food on the table and keep a roof over our head, are we at risk of losing our dreams and the notion that we can do anything we set our minds to?

I’ve seen a change and I’m not sure what to think of it.  The gloss on the page has become subdued, the expensive ads are few and far between. It’s true that things had become a little out of hand. We’ve been living a life of glitz and glamour and instant gratification and yet we dare to ask for more.  But yet, I wonder if we can’t scale back and get a little more real and down to earth without losing our ability to dream just a little. Is it possible?

Could you become resilient to the art of seduction and if you could, would you want to?  How many times have you bought a product because it promised to make you feel beautiful or become a success.  I have to admit I’m a sucker for a beautiful magazine, a romantic movie or an alluring commercial ad. I’m not sure I want to lose that feeling of being romanced, seduced and then pleased by my purchase. You’re not just purchasing a product your buying the idea or story that goes along with it.  It’s all so satisfying in an enchanting kind of way.

mango

I know we need to make a change in our expectations and lifestyle but don’t take away our lust for beauty, our longing for adventure or our need to dream. I’m afraid that during our quest for simplicity we might lose something childlike and magical along the way. The advice to keep life simple is wise but I don’t think that means we have to live a life of boredom or become too generic.

I’m trying to be more simplistic in my needs and mindful of how much is too much but I refuse to ignore the art of seduction or put an end to my dreams. I will still lust for a life that is filled with sparkle, allure and at times a little seduction. I refuse to give up on the lust of a dream and the quest for a career that suits me.

I’ve been seduced by a fruit that I don’t even like, what about you; are you easily seduced?

Think about it and let me know, right after you sink your teeth into a sweet, juicy mango. mmmm, it’s so good!

xo-jj

May 1, 2009 - Posted by | me, rants, Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. Well written! With the “current economy”, I think a lot of people have been reacting as Chicken Little. My parents grew up during the Great Depression, and my Polish grandfather worked every single day during the depression. When all of this began, the drop in the stock market, people wailing about lost retirement accounts, I said to my husband, “We are SO lucky…we had nothing to lose!” My life has not changed a bit! Oh, I am so easily seduced…every magazine, hair product, new make up is going to change my life! I am seduced by bunnies, baby animals, flowers, the way the cool morning air feels on my skin. I am seduced by bubbly wine, whimsical art, babies, and my husband’s blue eyes. I’m easy…I am seduced by life.
    **blows kisses** Deborah

    Comment by Deborah | May 1, 2009

  2. Deborah,
    We are two of a kind. I am seduced by all of those things and more. Oh except for your husband’s eyes-never seen them, honest!
    xo-jj

    Comment by javajune | May 1, 2009

  3. junie–it’s very easy (i guess) for some people to be seduced into the big excesses life can give, but i’ve never been into all the “if they have one, i want a bigger one” type of mentality…maybe it’s a good thing that i don’t read magazines, i read books, and the books i read aren’t easily dreamt over..murder mysteries, stephen king, etc…lol…but i do have dreams, but they’re in my head & i don’t need a magazine or a book to get me to them…

    Comment by libby | May 1, 2009

  4. I’m a sucker for good packaging… LOL!

    Comment by terrashield | May 1, 2009

  5. Libby you are on a good path and I’m glad you have dreams. Wish I could turn my nose up at all of the pressure to want and buy more. Dreams are still free though, right?

    Hey Terra I’m with you- a pretty package gets me every time.
    Take care all,
    -jj

    Comment by javajune | May 3, 2009

  6. I think there is a way of fulfilling those needs without the excess and it involves being honest with ourselves and those around us. For example, eating mangoes naked is not expensive. It is a simple pleasure that excess has caused us to overlook. We associate the material with pleasure but there is so much that we can do without taking out a mortgage that would be very fulfilling and rewarding. We have just lost touch with our sensuality and substituted it with material things. It’s a shame as the simple pleasures are within reach and quite affordable. Will people want more beyond this? Yes! and we should pursue those too. But lets find a balance in it all. I will now shut up and go back to watching my French film with subtitles.

    Comment by Ricardo | May 4, 2009

  7. Ricardo, You are so on the money- well done. I will admit I am a material girl at times but I also enjoy the simple pleasures too. You’re right eating mangoes in the nude isn’t expensive just reall, really sticky.
    -jj

    Comment by javajune | May 4, 2009

  8. sexy shoulder picture showed up when I searched for how to eat a mango!

    Comment by lsdjf | December 11, 2009


Leave a Reply

