Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Garden magic and a first date

IMG_3852 3

Sunny days and windy nights have weaved a little magic throughout my newly emerging garden and something is happening that I felt I must share.IMG_3811

 A little magic perhaps? Perhaps, 090 2Maybe…

 

 

 

 Whatever it is I am lusting for more and more and yes a little more, please!IMG_3811 4 

 

 

 

This garden of mine has inspired me to dig a little deeper and wider and as I said before -the tiny garden cottage is coming along but not quite ready to share just yet.

I have been busy collecting just the right plants to complete this gem in process but I still have sod to remove and there is a lot more digging to be done.

I’m so excited to report that this year I will be growing bird house and big dipper gourds. The plants are all started and ready for placement. I grew them on an arbor in my former garden and the magic they brought was amazing and very worth the effort! So just in case you may want to try this yourself here is a little gourd growing DIY advice.

 

bird house gourd

The vines are so vigorous and just fantastic. I enjoyed watching a tiny bud become a huge gourd roomy enough to make a cozy home for our feathered friends. This process is wonderful but it does take a little magic on my part. dipper gourds

Caution… this next part involves a little romance and seduction and yes…  gourd sex 101. So read this  at your own risk.  The vines produce 2 kinds of buds- a male and a female. Well by now, I guess you know where I’m going with this…

It takes a special moth like the hummingbird moth to come out and pollinate the flowers and they only have one night to do it in. They last time I grew gourds I planted about ten to fifteen plants so I only had to pollinate a little because there were enough buds on several nights for the moths to take care of the rest. This time I have only two plants and the opportunities will be very limited.

So this means I will have to go out in the moonlight and set up a first date, so to speak, with a little music and maybe some wine… Of course, that’s just for me- silly.

No really it takes a Q-tip to dip out the pollen from the male flower and lightly deposit it into the female flower. The difference between the two, you ask? The female flower is swollen at the base and the male is pretty ordinary- sorry guys.  See I told you it would all sound quite seductive didn’t I?

The last time I did this a neighbor man came out and asked me what I was doing. I turned a little red as I was explaining and he just said o-k-a-y and walked back to his house.

Now at this point you may be wondering why on earth is she sharing all of this. Well it just so happens that I saw an episode of dirty jobs visiting a gourd farm and it reminded me- so I thought I would share. Aren’t you glad I did?

IMG_3890 2

I love this time of year when everything is starting new and fresh. The color is just beginning and the birds are busy nesting. But the most important part is the sun, the warmth and no more snow!!!!

So get out there and get a little dirty- you’ll be glad you did!

IMG_3876 4

 Part II

javajune-jj1

 

Okay now before I end this very long post I just had to mention how blown away I am at  the amazing woman in my unravelling class. They are incredible and have been willing to share their most vulnerable sides with the class. I feel privileged to be a part of this process. We have a private and protected space on Flickr where we can share pictures and our inner most feelings and fears. I can’t believe how open and honest some have been. But that’s the point- to expose ourselves and put it all out on the table where we can work out unresolved issues and receive support.

I have to admit this is not what I had expected. I thought it would be a group of woman, most likely budding photographers sharing their struggle to move forward in their work and in need of a little creative inspiration and support. Well I totally didn’t get it because that is not what this class is about at all! It’s much more intimate than that. It’s raw and very transforming. I highly recommend it to anyone who would like to get to know and except themselves in a supportive environment with a very nurturing soul (Suzannah)  as a teacher. Simply amazing!!!

News flash…

Do you remember my window peeking squirrel who peeks at me on and off all day. Well just now there were two of them fighting over me on the window sil- I’ve never felt more attractive…..Thanks guys!

Have a great day…. It looks like rain here- I know, I know no Shopping!

xo-jj

May 15, 2009 - Posted by | confessions, lovers, me | , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Happy, glorious Friday, JJ. Beautiful photos AGAIN! Love your story about pollinating the gourds! I love the idea of growing them on an arbor. Where is this rainy place you live in? We are beginning to fry out here in the desert. Wishing you a lovely weekend, my friend. **blows kisses** Deborah

    Comment by Deborah | May 15, 2009

  2. jj…i got tons of pix yesterday of old brick buildings downtown, vines growing on them…still trying to upload them..

    Comment by libby | May 15, 2009

  3. It’s an amazing course isn’t it!

    Comment by .kat. | May 16, 2009

  4. So this unraveling thing really seems pretty deep. I’m glad you are having a chance to do this. Isn’t it great to have life changing experiences that are positive ones?

    You really have to get these squirrels on video.

    Comment by Ricardo | May 19, 2009


Leave a Reply

