Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Another day, another mis-adventure

IMG_4277

I started out so determined to get a few pictures in my camera before the sunset. I decided to go to a place that I don’t usually shoot. So I got in my car and drove about 25 miles away to a public garden. The whole way something was nagging at me but I ignored my inner voice of reason and drove on. When  I arrived at the park I couldn’t wait to start capturing the evening light. The light was just gorgeous and the park was at the peek of it’s spring bloom.

Creamy whites and yummy pinks were everywhere!

IMG_4313

 I was in photography heaven except for those nagging thoughts that said, “what would your mother say about you going out alone to a public and very deserted place at dusk? Have you learned nothing over the years? You know bad things happen when you don’t listen to me (yourself)” Yeah it went something like that. I knew it was a bad idea and that nagging voice kept me from getting too involved and probably from capturing the best pictures. I crept around but all the while I kept one eye on the gate and then back to the bushes behind me. I did manage to get some amazing shots but couldn’t totally let go and do my best work with that gnawing fear in my gut.

IMG_4340

 

The last time I went into a park alone and didn’t listen to my gut I got robbed, not hurt, just robbed but that was enough. Well on this night I didn’t get robbed and nothing bad happened because as soon as I heard the gate swing and saw the shadow of a man entering the garden I was off like a flash.

IMG_4359

I retreated to my locked car where I felt safe and was capable of  a get-away just in case. I hate to be like that and these thoughts make me feel cheated out of the full experience of life. I hate being afraid or a worry wart but what else can a 5′ 1″, 102 pound girl do? Perhaps I could hire a sexy body guard to follow me everywhere. He would have to go where ever I wanted and say nothing like, “are you done yet? or lets go get something to eat.” He would have to go willingly and like it. Here I go thinking of ways to spend money again. Oh BTW as I was heading to the parking lot I noticed that there was someone or some critter watching out for me.

IMG_4376

 

He was way up in a tree, having an evening snack as he looked down at me. I think all animals are cute even the ones who did holes and make a mess of your yard.

I guess what I really wanted to say with this post is to listen to your inner voice because it’s there for a reason. Be safe and have a wonderful weekend!

xo-jj

May 22, 2009 - Posted by | me, photography, rants | , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Lovely photos! Terrible about you being robbed. I have seen survival shows that say the same thing you did, to trust your instinct…I find it amazing that God placed a warning system within us. Now if we could just learn to listen to it. Wishing you a lovely long weekend. Still gray in the desert, and I am a blue skies kind of gal. **blows kisses** Deborah

    Comment by Deborah | May 22, 2009

  2. I felt afraid as I was reading until I knew you were safe. I am sorry to hear you were robbed as well, but relieved that you were not hurt. Unfortunately, we can’t explore as freely as we would like. I also use that voice fiercely in taking care of my lil ones. My job is to keep them safe; I am much more diligent in listening and responding to that inner voice as it relates to them; I cannot afford any regret there. thanks for sharing sweet lady. oh yes, and have a lovely weekend.

    Comment by rootedinstyle | May 22, 2009

  3. thanks for these pictures, jj!! i too am sorry you were robbed, but, in the grand scheme of things…it’s only money…not your life or your garden fairy, both of which are irreplaceable!

    Comment by libby | May 22, 2009

  4. The picture of the garden gate is dreamy. You had a little animal guardian watching your back. Glad your venture was safe. It is true we must listen to our intuition. It is there for a reason.

    Comment by Shell | May 22, 2009


Leave a Reply

