Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Chippy paint and hidden secrets

IMG_4432

I love the look and feel of an old door with it’s chippy paint and smooth wood that’s been worn to  perfection. Every door has a secret to tell and it’s this secret that begs for a  peek just beyond the weathered handle. I can’t resist the temptation of a door that has been left open just a crack. That calling from a special place promises to lead to another world, far too magical to ignore. A steady hand and a watchful eye make way into another time and place. The feet follow as the mind is lost in the secret that lies just beyond the door.

I had to let you peek at the old doors that inspired me to spend hours behind the lens this weekend. The lusty colors took my breathe away and the lovely patina sent my hair into the perfect curl.

There’s something magical about an old door. It begs to be opened and plays with the mind.

I felt like a little girl caught up in a fairy tale. I blame it on my childhood book “The Lion the witch and the wardrobe” but maybe it’s just me.

This door has withstood centuries and traveled across an ocean. Who knows what secrets are held behind that beautiful patina.

This image will be listed as part of my found words series on etsy sometime this week. The studio will feature a few images along with the following  original words.

Every door holds a secretIMG_4451

The calling

 The temptation

The peek at life just beyond the door

Another world

A quiet muse

A magical place

A curious hand and wandering eye begs the feet to step beyond

Be wary

And mindful

 Or you’ll be lost in the secret that lies just beyond the crepit door

 

You never know what kind of magic is waiting for you just beyond the door.

IMG_3925

 

What kinds of things peek your curiosity or tempt you to go beyond? Perhaps it’s a glowing light in the window as you pass by that begs you to look or the magic of an intricate box tucked away in storage that must be opened. Tell me what sends your hair in the perfect curl.

I’m dying to hear so talk to me….

xo-jj

May 26, 2009 - Posted by | me, photography, secrets | , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. The time between Sunset and evening. It’s like an in between time and I feel like worlds are opening.

    Comment by Shell | May 26, 2009

  2. Love love the door! I have been longing for a door in my garden. At Christmas time, there is an entire street that decorates OVER THE TOP…they all have glass doors and the seekers are allowed to stroll through their yard right up to the glass and peek inside…glowing,dancing Christmas critters abound. It’s magical. Wishing you a lovely day!

    Comment by Deborah | May 26, 2009

  3. junie–i love that door, but, honestly, my curiousity is at the gate in your previous post! big iron gates that you can see through hold my interest, cuz it’s like it’s teasing you, “there’s something special in here, i wouldn’t be here if it wasn’t special…but you have to take a risk to find out what it is!”

    Comment by libby | May 26, 2009

  4. I’m afraid of opening any doors right now. Been a rough few days.

    Comment by Ricardo | May 26, 2009


Leave a Reply

