Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

A most provocative green goddess

IMG_0009

Today I’m celebrating the color green. It’s not the kind of green you see when you look at blades of grass seeping up between your toes as you walk across the yard. Nor is it the shade of green you see when you look up at the canopy the trees providing some respite from the heat of the afternoon sun. This green is quite different than what you’ll find in nature. It’s causes your eyes to stare and become fixated, it’s provocative, and almost takes your breath away. I love this green for it’s audacity to be bold despite the competition. I’m not implying that this green is any better the the lovely shades found in nature but it does make a statement.

IMG_4437When this shade is coupled with old wood and a rich patina, my heart beat faster with excitement. You may be thinking right about now: what a silly thing to get so excited about. Well, my reply to that would be- it is the little things that make every day special. Sometimes we are so busy living for those big moments that we miss the most extraordinary things that just slip by. A little pop of color here, a little taste of sweetness there can make an ordinary day pretty special. 

This year I made a vow to myself that I would not let the little things pass by without noticing their significance and celebrating their contributions toward making my day special. I won’t allow myself to get caught up in the big prize at the end and give up all the little gifts along the way. The big prize is never as grand as it seems anyway. In the past I’ve lived my life thinking if only I could get to that point in my life or I can’t wait until this happens, only to find that those moments never came or when they did they weren’t so grand after all.

With all of the difficulties we face in life everyday don’t we deserve little bouts of happiness sprinkled in. The answer is “yes” BTW.  Old doors make me happy, so I decided to share some of my happy moments captured  with you.

As I take a trip around the blogsphere I see so many struggling to get through the day. It makes me sad and I want to reach out and say it’s okay or did you notice anything special today? So here I am with this one little blog reaching out to all of you to say " don’t let the good stuff that’s sometimes over shadowed by the ugly stuff slip past you. That little moment when you sink your teeth into a chocolate bar or witness a flock of baby ducklings following their mom across the road maybe the best thing that happened to you on that day. Stop and take a moment to celebrate the way these little tiny blessings make you feel. It may sound silly but I think you’ll find it makes a difference in the way you feel at the end of the day.

IMG_4431

Oh how I would love to have this groovy green gate in my garden. It’s so yummy with little bits of rust peeking through it’s vibrant coat of paint. It reminded me of a big green goddess in the middle of the desert. I drooled over it but it doesn’t go with my earth-toned house and the price tag well lets not go there. I decided that this image would have to do. I can visit it anytime I need a little shot of groovy.

Yes it’s true I am an internal optimist and sometimes that gets annoying but hey what’s the alternative? I have a choice of how I see things and I’ve picked the door with the extraordinary shade of  chippy green paint because it makes me smile. 🙂

xo-jj

May 27, 2009 - Posted by | me, photography | , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. I love that door. I need a moroccan blue one like that for my garden. We must be on the same frequency…last evening I took pictures of leaves and was planning a green theme! **blows kisses** Deborah

    Comment by Deborah | May 27, 2009

  2. Keep the optimism. It’s very important to have. It will get you through anything. I am in the process of exercising that muscle if you will so that it will be a central part of my day to day thought process.

    Comment by Ricardo | May 27, 2009

  3. As a fellow optimism, I say keep up the good vibes and the celebrating the little things.

    Comment by Shell | May 27, 2009

  4. “Yes it’s true I am an internal optimist and sometimes that gets annoying but hey what’s the alternative? I have a choice of how I see things and I’ve picked the door with the extraordinary shade of chippy green paint because it makes me smile.”

    What an inspirational and powerful thought !

    ~Silver
    From Relections/
    One Day at a Time with Silver

    Comment by Silver | May 27, 2009

  5. jj–that phrase that silver picked out says it all to me, too!

    Comment by libby | May 28, 2009

  6. thanks guys
    -jj

    Comment by javajune | May 29, 2009


Leave a Reply

