Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Amazing guests and a very entertaining dinner show

IMG_0444 8

No I didn’t grow these amazing things I bought them.

I love this time of year. It has been a little too cool for me but the trees are all full and the flowers are wonderful. The whole growing season is so uplifting and June is my fave. It’s when all the roots get a good hold and start to show off a little.  Yesterday was an ordinary day in June except for a couple of amazing things that happened. Now amazing is a pretty strong word to use and the things that I’m talking about weren’t life changing or earth shattering but they did in fact amaze me.  

By now you have probably gathered that I love the outdoors, as long as it’s not too cold. As soon as things warm up a little I open the windows and even the door to my deck. This drives my mother crazy because she says I’m letting the bugs in. Well sometimes she’s right but yesterday I had a visitor of another kind sneak through the open door. We were sitting down to eat dinner peacefully when a couple of beautiful creatures popped  (flew) in. Two gorgeous ruby- throated hummingbirds were so engaged in battle that they didn’t realize where there little spat had led. As they raced around my living and dining room trying to find an escape hatch the dogs were barking and Mr. J was trying to catch them . I of course was chasing the whole circus of activity around with my camera. They’re much too quick and I didn’t get the shot but what I witnessed was way cooler (is that a word?) than a picture. The first little bird got so tired that he landing on Mr. J’s arm and allowed him to walk out the door and release him. The second bird got tired too and rested in his hands and then flew off to the garden. It was the best dinner show I’ve ever seen!

IMG_0453 6

There’s nothing like fresh flowers on the window sil.

The second thing that happened would probably fall more in the startling or shocking category. Over the past two weeks I have watched two black bird’s attempts at building a nest in my paper box. They have put sticks in and taken sticks out for two weeks. Then all of a sudden they quit. So I thought well the poor things finally gave up. I walked out to get the mail and decided to take a peek in the box and maybe remove the sticks. Well as soon as I bent down and got my face close to the hole I saw a little black bird sitting in the box and then he just disappeared. No it wasn’t magic, he slipped down a hole in the bricks where he apparently has his nest. All along I was wondering why those dumb birds would build a nest in the empty tube that gets a paper shoved in it twice a week. I quess I under estimated the Little buggers. Their nest is hidden between the bricks, safe and warm- amazing! Yes, amazing is the word of the day!

 I’m off to the printers today to make sure a few pics like the ones above are worthy and then hopefully they will be listed yet this week in the studio.

Oh BTW I did finally manage to get a head shot for my unravelling class that wasn’t too scary. It wasn’t great and I had morning hair but I posted it anyway.

IMG_0491

It’s hard enough to look decent in a head shot, let alone trying to pose and snap the picture yourself.  My arms just aren’t long enough. You can bet I curled my hair after looking at this shot.

 Cheers to Wednesday!

xo-jj

June 3, 2009 - Posted by | me, photography, rants | , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Of course JUNE is your favorite month! LOVE the hummingbird story. I could see it all in my mind! How delightful. Lastly, you are stunning! You are going to be one beautiful advanced woman!!!(see quote on my side bar for reference) **blows kisses** Deborah

    Comment by Deborah | June 3, 2009

  2. the picture came out nice. I am looking at setting up a time to get my read head shots done.

    Amazing the birds came to him to be released no matter how tired they were. That’s pretty cool. And the fact that the other birds made a little slide to their home. That is amazing.

    Glad you liked my swine flu comment.

    Comment by Ricardo | June 4, 2009

  3. Ric,
    It was amazing! I’m sure you’ll take great pics. Make sure to post them.
    -jj

    Comment by javajune | June 5, 2009

  4. I think you are beautiful.

    xoxo

    Comment by Renee Khan | June 6, 2009


Leave a Reply

