Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Summer lov’en

IMG_0844 3

Endless summer between the sheets

Ahhh, summer- I love it so. It’s a time when clothes are optional well at least in the house and shoes are forgotten. The warm sun feels good on my skin and the breeze blows a familiar smell of freshly mowed grass through my window. It’s a time when families gather and children run free through the yard with an open jar ready to catch the first fire-fly of the season.

IMG_0899 2

Summer’s child

Summer’s child is curious by nature
and adventurous by design,
a versatile soul that bounces like the flickering light
of a summer afternoon.
This child is kind and willing to bend like the willow
and float like a butterfly.
Her stellar personality shines when in the spotlight
like a newly bloomed flower.
This lover of nature throws seeds of love
to all who dwell within her garden.

I wish summer could last forever and ever.  After a great weekend I felt inspired to share a few of  my favorite things about the season. I know it’s only June but I want to savor every moment that this beautiful time of year has to offer.

IMG_0615

Yummy Pink

I love the garden this time of year with it’s freshly opened blooms. I love growing tasty herbs in little pots outside my window and use them when I cook. My cooking needs all the help it can get. .. teeehee

 

IMG_0598 4

 

An amazing sunrise over the misty pond.

Okay that’s enough beautiful summer day dreams for today. There is something I saw that I found quite amazing and I want to share it with you. Although I think it was beautiful in it’s own way, I’m not sure how the rest of you will feel about it. WARNING… many of you may find this a little disturbing.

This weekend I took a load of trash out to the kirby (trash can) and when I opened the lid I was shocked by what I saw. Mr. J had been cleaning out the garage and decided to pitch an old duffel bag, he barely peeked inside and saw that it was filled with old junk no longer needed. Well little did he realize that this little bag had become a home to a family of deer mice. So as I opened the lid on the top of the garbage can mound stood a mommy mouse with four or five babies attached to her. She saw me and started to run when one of the babies fell off so she went back and layed down beside it until it reattached itself, then she took off again.

I have never seen anything like it.  No I didn’t get a picture- I’m not in the habit of carrying my camera to the trash can. I’m not afraid of mice but the thought of them crawling on me is disturbing  so I quickly closed the lid.  Now if you have nightmares because of this I am sorry but I just couldn’t help sharing.

Have an amazing day- without the mice.

I’ll be doing a little garden gazing; only after all my work is done 😉

IMG_0919

I’m still waiting for a little sunshine.

xo-jj

 

June 9, 2009 - Posted by | me, rants, Uncategorized | , , , , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. How cute are you! I love the photo of your in your jeans! The poor little mice. I love just about any living creature. We ended up with hairless rats for pets…it’s a LONG story, but they were the sweetest things. So much more fun than hampsters, very people oriented, and quite smart. I hope you were able to free the little family from the trash can. I am falling in love with your little world up there. **blows kisses** Deborah

    Comment by Deborah | June 9, 2009

  2. awwww…i love mice…in the abstact, of course, you know?

    Comment by libby | June 9, 2009

  3. The Mice story is sweet to me. This summer I’m appreciating very much. I had an extremely hard winter. I’m reveling in the warm weather, sunshine, blue sky and able to walk out with just a shirt and skirt. I say savor Summer and let it fill our hearts.
    The pictures of the sheets in the wind and the statue baby just capture this summer to me perfectly.

    Comment by Shell | June 9, 2009

  4. I think your photography is working out great. You have caught lots of images of delicate,gauzy, evanescent things and moments that give the blog a character that I (a word person) can’t describe, beyond saying that it’s cheerful.

    Being something of a pessimist, I find this blog an antidote to myself!

    Comment by nightman1 | June 9, 2009

  5. I believe this was his very first Share a Garden Sunday and that he is going to continue it. I added him so I can follow and will see if he posts it again this week. It IS a fun idea!

    Comment by Deborah | June 9, 2009

  6. so lovely. I am a hugely sensitive about animals so I was a bit scared when you started–aww; I can picture them all attached to mommy. I would be both scared and feel protective, in the same instance—no wonder life is so freakin draining—:) thank you for all of the lovely images.

    Comment by rootedinstyle | June 10, 2009

  7. Thanks for your comments everyone. You are all such brave souls not one of you climbed up on a chair when you read my mouse story. BTW I went back and opened the lid so the critters could escape. Take care.
    xo-jj

    Comment by javajune | June 10, 2009

  8. My granny would’ve totally been on a chair had she read this mice tale. Ha! And can I say that I giggled when I read “teehee” because I totally say that but it’s been awhile.

    Comment by Amber | June 10, 2009

  9. Set those mice free JJ. And hey, better mice than a spider right?

    Comment by Ricardo | June 11, 2009


Leave a Reply

