Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

I only came for the cupcakes

IMG_1052

Cute!

Kind of a funny story here… I took a trip to Sam’s club yesterday (I love that place) for some cupcakes. You can buy a flat of 30 white or chocolate cakes for less than $13.00. They even throw in the decorations if you ask. What a bargain what a deal, right? Well maybe not- wait until you hear the rest of the story. Sam’s club is all about buying in bulk and snagging the best deal. That’s the tactic to get you into the store but once you’re there all these novelty items jump out in front of you saying “look at me look at me.” Okay, maybe this only happens to me.

I was doing very well making my way through the isles and past all the temptations on my way to the bakery until someone intervened. This cute young girl walked up to me and said “can I show you something?” Well, I didn’t want to be rude and a girl has to make a living, right? Yeah, she had me the minute she mentioned compact and make-up kit. It was a promotional offer for a cute little kit, small enough to throw in your purse- at a very good price, I might add. Okay, I don’t even wear a lot of make-up these days but I couldn’t resist. I bought not one but two kits. Don’t ask me why. I have a terrible weakness for things like handbags,  shoes and anything mini, I’m a sucker and  a push-over. I love all things cute and compact.  Well, after I was convinced into buying two of something I really didn’t need it was as if a dam burst and things just started showing up in my cart.   The worst part is that by the time I left the store I had spent over two hundred dollars. But wait some of it was edible and I didn’t buy the outdoor furniture I had my eye on.

Someone once said…

“You know that thing when you see someone cute and he smiles and your heart kind of goes like a warm butter sliding down a hot toast? Well that’s what it’s like when I see a store. Only it’s better.”

 I digress. 

IMG_1067 1

 I tried the bronzer- it turned me orange.

As long as I’m confessing a little I might as well go all the way. Brace yourself, Sams Club is only part of the story. Yeah, it wasn’t my first stop 😦  Before I stopped at Sam’s club, for just the cupcakes, I paid a visit to my best friend Target. Do you know her? Me and Target, we go way back.

 So yep you guessed it, the damage had started there when I saw the perfect doll for the princess and a little dress for princess #2 who isn’t even born yet. I did go there with a purpose in mind. I needed something  to cure my son’s poison ivy. (He should know by now not to touch the stuff but it seems he has to test it every year and every year he suffers. )

IMG_1082

She looks right at home on the baby piano.

One of my tricks to keep frivalous spending at a minimum is shopping without a cart. Well, it seems that my arms have grown a bit because suddenly this method isn’t working. I still manage to carry a pretty damaging load to the check out. I won’t tell you what I spent; I”ll spare you that painful detail. After my very expensive outing I went straight home and hid, I mean, took care of everything. This is beginning to sound  a bit like confessions of a shopaholic- ya think?

The bargain cupcakes that started this whole adventure ended up costing me a fortune. They better be some damn good cupcakes! What’s in your wallet?  Mines empty!

xo-jj

June 10, 2009 - Posted by | confessions, me, rants | , , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. That was cute! Another little princess on the way!!! Oh how lucky can you get. HEY! You did not visit me yesterday and I gave you a shout out on my blog. I was so touch by your post yesterday, I sent friends over. But now I see you were a very busy girl in the retail world. **blows kisses** Deborah

    Comment by Deborah | June 11, 2009

  2. Congrats on the upcoming new addition JJ!

    Comment by Ricardo | June 11, 2009

  3. hello june, i’ve arrived here after reading some fine endorsements by deborah and renee. and i’m glad i did because you are a very funny writer! i love it!

    just so you know, i’ve never left sam’s without spending at least $200. i don’t think it’s even possible.

    xo
    kj

    Comment by kj | June 11, 2009

  4. Oh June I am so glad I came here tonight to share in this fun at the store. I do that all the time.

    I love the quote about hot butter on toast, the best.

    By the way the doll is adorable and of course you had to buy it.

    Love Renee xoxo

    Comment by Renee Khan | June 11, 2009

  5. […] thought I’d leave you with this little ditty and a happy ending to my cupcake story. How can you put a price on this kind of fun. Yes, I am the queen of […]

    Pingback by The Cupcake Shuffle « Javajune’s Blog | June 12, 2009

  6. It’s a shame you spent all your money before I could convince you to buy Avon from me – Avon has handbags, too, you know. 🙂

    That is a cute doll!

    Comment by 3carnations | June 12, 2009

  7. i hope the poison ivy gets healed up soon! one of the pitfalls of summer, isn’t it?

    Comment by libby | June 12, 2009

  8. Thanks to all for visiting me. Your support means everything.
    xo-jj

    Comment by javajune | June 13, 2009


Leave a Reply

