Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Ulternate universe, characters welcome

IMG_1214 6

 Those of us who are immersed in the on-line world of bloggery see nothing strange about cyber parties or daily visits to our neighboring blogs. We talk about each other as if we are neighbors, co-workers and friends. It feels totally natural and not the least bit strange at all; until you try to explain why you’re wearing rabbit ears while  having tea with imaginary friends and taking pictures. Just try to explain I dare you! Mr. Java was ready to call for the white coats to come take me away to a nicely padded room. He didn’t buy the whole taking pictures for an upcoming cyber party bit.

Then not long after that I was chattering about what I was going to wear to this up-coming blog event, Vanessa from A fanciful Twist’s Mad Hatter Tea party, and the person I was talking to said oh, it sounds like fun, where is the party? At that moment I knew that no matter what I said or how I tried to explain it was going to sound stupid or crazy or more than likely a combination of both.  I could see the wheels turning in her head as I tried to explain. Her thoughts were rumbling as a role of the eyes and strained facial expression gave way to an “oh I see.”  That was it, not one question about blogs or how they work, who uses them and how do I get one. Nope just a “oh I see.”  I know what she was thinking, “oh my, this poor chick is unemployed while trying to make a go of her photography and she’s lost her mind in the process.” It was that look of pity and fear on her face that snapped me back from this alternate universe  into the land of tangible things and real people engaging in live conversions.

I think the younger generation, like 25 and under has a much easier time understanding the cyber world but just try to explain it to your parents. Do you get the look of didn’t we raise you better than that and be careful or some stalker will show up at your door. I get that talk from Mr. Java who really doesn’t understand this blog thing at all. He only got with the email kick a few years ago because his business dictated that her communicate that way. 

So I wondering how do others explain this alternate world of friendships and parties and what do you say when your in the midst of blogging and a friend calls to ask “what are you up to?” Do you say I was working on my blog, twittering with a friend, down-loading pictures on my web-page or just make something up?

Are we really an odd group or just people who still have an imagination, a sense of fun and genuine trust in the universe? I’m not sure what the answer to that is but I do know that I have met some truly wonderful and exceptionally interesting people here in blog land. How about you?

xo-jj

June 16, 2009 - Posted by | confessions, family woes, me | , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. First-LOVE the photo!!! Made me laugh out loud. Love your dog. You may all come live with me – PFC Ryan’s room is free. Bloggery, yes, try to explain it to even facebookers and they go blank. All my BEST friends live inside my computer. My Daddy is a “ham radio operator”. He has been for 68 years (Daddy is 88). I equate blogging with that…connecting with people all over the world. But we won’t tell Daddy that it is SOOOOOOOOO much better! My blog friends feed my soul. Especially you! **blows kisses** Deborah

    Comment by Deborah | June 16, 2009

  2. After one of my best friends said to me reading my blog felt like an invasion of my privacy. (I still don’t get this since she knows me.) I decided after that I just tell my friends I have a blog and if they ask me questions then I share.
    It doesn’t deter from my love of my blog or having fun. I love the picture!! I haven’t even started on what to do for the Mad Hatter party. I need to get cracking!!

    Comment by Shell | June 16, 2009

  3. yeah, junie, i’m very trusting, but i’m not stupid, you know? but i refuse to cower under the bed for all my life!!

    Comment by libby | June 16, 2009

  4. Oh I definitely have met the most wonderful people, and you are one of them.

    I am super stoked for Vanessa’s party. Maybe people don’t like it because their not invited.

    We are very real people and that I think is what other people do not understand.

    I’m real and what I put out here is real. And I know you are real too.

    Love Renee xoxoxo

    Comment by Renee Khan | June 16, 2009

  5. I tried to explain it to my family last weekend and they looked at me — like eh? And I have friends who won’t read my blog even though I nearly beg them to do so…wanting them to share in the creative experience or see me and my writing in another light. They simply refuse stating I must call on the dreadful phone and that feels limiting to my 3-D sense of self. If sense of smell could be included on a blog that would “blow the roof off the big-top circus” for me. Insane elephants everywhere! I’m sure you can relate.

    Yeaaaaaaah for Vanessa and her magical blog & tea parties! I’ve been cooking up something special and can’t wait to share it with everyone. That day is going to be lovely and crazy – Mad Hatter tea gatherings all day and then Shakespeare in the Park that night.

    Comment by Misha/DawaiOser | June 17, 2009

  6. Well I can’t explain it to others but it is a very real and important thing to me. There was a time when having this circle of friends on the internet was seen as socially inept by critics. This is totally wrong. It is an amazing thing.

    Comment by Ricardo | June 18, 2009


Leave a Reply

