Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Rainy Day Dreamers

IMG_1398 4

The princess sporting her tu tu in the park.

I think my love for dress-up and all things girlie started long ago in grandma’s attic. As a little girl I just loved to sneak up to the attic at grandma and grandpa’s and peek at the fancy hankies and cutesy aprons tucked away in a curvy old dresser. The dresser had an adjustible mirror that was perfect to get a look-see at my reflection in grandma’s church hats. They were kept in the stacks and stacks of boxes in every corner of the room. The treasures were endless as my imagination took root and  sprouted wings in that little attic space.  Even now I love to play dress up and have an incurable fascination with vintage jewelry and fancy hats.

IMG_1402 5

Ang enjoying a day dream during the heat of the day.

I wish I had realized then how precious those things would be to me today and asked for a keepsake or two. I was a young girl when my grandparents passed and didn’t hang on to old mementos. I wish now that I had some of those attic treasures to tuck away for a day just like today. The house is quiet and dark on this rainy day; the perfect time to play a little dress up with my girls.

IMG_1387 2

Ms. D and her purse named Fancy.

I usually don’t like the rain, it’s dark and depressing but for some reason today I don’t mind. It’s a good day for thoughts and reminiscing about treasures found on rainy days in grandma’s attic.

Wishing you many lovely day-dreams on this rainy Wednesday.

xo-jj

June 17, 2009 - Posted by | me, photography, saga | , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Love it! Wish I could sit and drink a cup of coffee and reminisce with you on this rainy day.

    Comment by Cin | June 17, 2009

  2. Once again, simply beautiful! I am seriously in love with the Princess. Are these your daughters in the photos? I love your blog even more since you have taken this turn to the fancy! **blows kisses** Deborah

    Comment by Deborah | June 17, 2009

  3. Enjoy your rainy day Wednesday. I love your pictures and those striped tights.

    Comment by Shell | June 17, 2009


Leave a Reply

