Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Decorating, room themes, whimsical wall art and a sassy cow

IMG_1652

I love those days when I feel inspired even if it is only for a moment or two. A little inspiration here and there is what keeps my spark alive. It keeps me going and allows me to see the world  a little differently. There are so many wonderful places in blog land that are bursting with creativity and are a great resource for inspiration. What inspires you?

I thought about the things that inspire me and what might inspire someone to buy my photography. Photography is a funny thing. It’s so subjective as much or maybe more so than any other piece of art and just because you like something doesn’t mean you know what to do with it.  So I thought about what kinds of things one could do with a photographic print that would make it really shine or become a work of art. I decided that fine art prints are best when grouped together to set a theme. A room with a theme or grouping on the wall looks so pulled together and makes a statement.  It has something to say about the room’s purpose and the people in it. So I have begun a journey across the walls of my house. I’ve decided to use my photography to set the tone and give my rooms personality.

I started with the Princess Room and look what happened.

IMG_1668

 

I used a print from the the belly shoot in the center and then added Like a Whisper and Sugar Baby, two Etsy prints  from the studio featuring a precious little pink and white layette. The matching white frames pulled all the images together and made it look kind of chic and solidified the whole baby girl theme. You may have noticed that the artwork balancing in the candelabra looks familiar. It is a digital art print from the wonderful Miss Vanessa of A fanciful Twist. Yes, this print of Miss thing looks wonderful in the Princess Room.  It’s  in keeping with the pink girlie look but adds a little whimsy and I love whimsy.

IMG_1658

The perfect match.

Displaying these prints in a wide border frame allowed me to fore go the cost of a mat and downsize the frames for another cost savings. Yahoo, I’m thrifty!

I mentioned that I liked whimsy. Well get a load of the whimsy I shot yesterday while doing a little business in the country. I love it and wish I had a companion photo or two to pair with it. It wouldn’t really go in my house but it would definitely add a bit of whimsical charm- don’t ya think.

IMG_1654

 

“Pardon…  but do I have something between my teeth?”

I thought this cow was being friendly but I later learned that she has a really baaad attitude and was just being sassy- I like sassy!

I hope that was a four leaf clover she ate because I heard it said that if she doesn’t shape up her destiny lies in a steak burger. Ahhhh, poor sassy!

Sassy cow may make her way into my Etsy shop. I haven’t decided quite yet but I think she’s would fit right in with the  eclectic collection of Studio Pink.

Have a sassy Tuesdays!

xo-jj

June 23, 2009 - Posted by | me, photography | , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. The photograph of the baby bed and the prints is tremendously appealing. Usually I try to analyze visual art(just like I do everything else) but this time it’s hard.

    Oh, i know, everything points to the baby bed. EVERYTHING IS WAITING FOR THAT BABY”.

    This is a picture that is, er, “pregnant” with anticipation.

    (And the colors and shapes are elegant, too.)

    Comment by nightman1 | June 23, 2009

  2. Cool photos! I´m sure somone will buy them!
    Your photography is fun and cute! I can feel romance everywhere! 🙂

    Comment by ViktoryiaN | June 23, 2009

  3. I knew that was Vanessa’s work before I even read it! She is a very beloved friend of mine…did you know that her garden fairies and my garden fairies are cousins! It’s true. Vanessa told me herself! I LOVE the cow lips photo! Great shot-great fun! **blows kisses** Deborah

    Comment by Deborah | June 23, 2009

  4. Love Whimsical things. Loving the picture by Lady V, as I call her. The cow is adorable. All those baby themed pictures made my heart a flutter.

    Comment by Shell | June 23, 2009

  5. Oh my, I laughed out loud at the cow with the clover in her teeth.. I hope she learns to behave so she can have a long sassy life.

    Comment by Whimsical Road | June 27, 2009


Leave a Reply

