Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Love is the movement

IMG_1827 2

Sorry about this image-okay I’m not, I just wanted to get your attention. Did I? Gosh I hope so.

 I felt a bit eerie as I wandered to the back of an old graveyard so I could take this image. The sky was dark and a storm was coming- it was just like something out of a movie- I swear!

IMG_0039 secret ht 3

Secret Heart

why so mystifying,

you’re so solemn

and so justifying.

This little secret

that you’re trying to conceal

is the very same hush

 you’re dying to reveal.

Secret heart it’s time to bear it,

don’t be afraid,

this mystery, you must share it.

I’m the kind of girl who likes to get involved and work for a cause. I think it’s important to give back to the universe and live passionately. In the past I was a team leader for the American Cancer Society and loved it but I’m ready for a new gig.

The day I started this blog something tragic happened to someone I know. I still remember getting that phone call while in mid-post. It was shocking and gut-wrenching.  I’m not going to tell you about the phone call or the story that inspired this post- it’s not my story to tell. 

 I will say this: I have decided to get involved in a cause I believe in. It’s a movement that reaches out to people in need. It was started by a group of young people who shared in the experience of a young woman in crises. The actions they took caught on quickly and spread like wildfire and now…  Well, please watch the video to better explain the why and how.

To write love on her arms was started because someone cared enough to help. I was taken by the strength and passion of Renee’s friends and the way they took her in and kept her safe. Their words and her story was the story of so many that were suffering in silence.

 I feel certain that the only way to reach young people in crises is by planting seeds of love beneath their feet and let’s face it, cyber space is where they walk everyday. So here I am throwing seeds to all who will plant them. I just had to get involved and somehow make a difference.

I knew I could count on all of you to be my gardeners. This journey has just begun and I’m asking my cyber friends to walk beside  me. You don’t have to open your wallets or attend a rally, just take a moment to click on the TNT box in the lower right corner of my blog. For every click and message, TNT will donate money to this cause. If then you decide you want to do more or get involved you can visit twloha and buy a tee-shirt or arm band as I did.

Get as involved as you wish but please just take a moment to watch the video and click on the TNT box it only takes a few seconds out of your day, I promise. You might be the one to make a difference or save a life and it could be the life of someone you know.  I have attached another video clip from NBC nightly news. This clip gives you more info about the movement and how others are getting involved.

Getting involved and making a difference doesn’t have to cost a lot of money or take up too much of your time. Please help me remove the stigma of depression by taking the time to listen. I ordered a tee-shirt and arm band and I’ve decided to donate 10% of all sales from StudioPink my Etsy store to the cause through the summer but you don’t have to go that far. The most important thing we can do is bring awareness to this terrible affliction that goes untreated because of shame and misunderstanding. You and I can spread the word with open lines of communication and love.

See I told you I had some important things to talk about and this was at the top of my list. Thank you for listening and for opening your heart and your minds to those who need you and thank you for being a part of this garden of hope. Who would have thought about growing a garden in cyber space? tee he

This garden in cyber space gave me an idea …I would like to set a date to have a group of bloggers (that’s you) join together to plant the seeds of hope for this cause. No I don’t mean physically, although that would be beautiful, I mean in cyber space. We could each post a picture that represented hope and say a few words about depression and supporting those who need us or link back to Twloha

IMG_1852 1

So tell me your thoughts on this. Can we do it? Can one little garden of hope make a difference?

Love, junie

June 30, 2009 - Posted by | confessions, me, secrets | , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Junie, it was lovely of you to post this and get involved. I had actually seen a video of this some time ago. Wonderful idea about a blogger event. This touches me on many levels personally…sometimes it is difficult to go back. Perhaps we could “summer” at your place, and be snowbird at mine in the winter. I truly do wish you were my neighbor! **kisskiss** Deborah

    Comment by Deborah | June 30, 2009

  2. You let me know the date and I’m down to help spread the word on my blog. Sending you much love to today, June.

    Comment by Shell | June 30, 2009

  3. Thank You, I love you!

    Comment by Cin | June 30, 2009

  4. junie, this is one of the most important things in people’s lives right now! truly, this is why i’m the world’s biggest fan of cymbalta & therapy…

    Comment by libby | June 30, 2009

  5. very cool….I will support however I can. it feels good to help. lovely.

    Comment by rootedinstyle | July 1, 2009

  6. Glad you are calling attention to this very important matter. Depression runs in my family and it is not a fun thing. there’s also a terrible stigma attached to it and so many misconceptions on what it is and is not. It’s not just about snapping out of it wither. If people could do that, they would. While I would not say I am as bad as some of my family members, I do suffer bouts of it but have been much better in the last few years. It is a silent prison when it kicks on JJ. This is a wonderful idea.

    Comment by Ricardo | July 6, 2009


Leave a Reply

