Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Gosh, I Love days like this

IMG_1789

I had a rather unusual day yesterday. It started out the same as most; too much coffee, time in the garden, new items added to my store, time here with you but when I went to the mail box I discovered that my “To write love on her arms” tee-shirt arrived. Yahoo, I love it!  After I slipped it over my head, I set out to run a few errands but got side tracked by a sign that read old cameras for sale. Well it’s no guess what I did or a big surprise when my car veered off it’s path in the direction of oz. You know I had to at least take a peek at what they had to offer. The sale was held in a dirty garage attached to a very run down house by a nice woman and her grown sons. I started my investigation of the merchandise right away. By this time my heart was somewhere in my throat- old Polaroids! There were so many to choose from. They weren’t a bargain, someone had done their homework. Despite the fact that the price wasn’t right and the fact that these cameras had belonged to a relative, so the sellers knew nothing about them or even if they were in working order- I bought three. Call me crazy I don’t care, I was on cloud nine. Two of the cameras are Polaroids one from the seventies and one from the fifties. The third camera is an old Kodak instamatic from the sixties with  range finder focus and guess what it has a half used roll of film in it. Part of me is so excited to see what’s on the roll and the other feels a little funny to be in possession of something so personal. Then there is this little voice that says who knows what you’ll find, it might be something you don’t want to see. Uh huh, I have a pretty vivid imagination.

IMG_1924 1

I will be taking a trip to the camera shop very soon to pick up N batteries and see if they can give me any insight on how it works. The Polaroid land camera from the fifties will take a lot more looking in to.

On the ride home I passed a house with some rather unusual yard art. I couldn’t really get a good shot of it from across the road and I could only hold up traffic for so long. Yeah, people swear at me sometimes. After my adventure and my head totally occupied by old cameras and yard art most of what I fully intended to take care of went right out the window.

 IMG_1920 1

 Notice all the little statues in the car and the tikki torches wrapped in x-mas garland on each end. There are solar lights positioned as head lights and plastic flowers everywhere.. You probably can’t see most of the glass looking figures but look at the deer on the back and owl in the garland. It gave me a giggle.

Gosh I love days like this!

Have a happy, happy and totally safe 4th of July weekend.

xo-jj

July 2, 2009 - Posted by | confessions, me, photography, Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. Interesting.

    Raven
    http://cherokeebydesign.wordpress.com/

    Comment by cherokeebydesign | July 2, 2009

  2. nice blog
    🙂

    with love
    http://blogprints.wordpress.com/

    Comment by arunraaj | July 2, 2009

  3. I hope you can find parts for the Polaroids because the company no longer exists and was bought out. We have an old polaroid ID phot camera and while we can use Fuji films for it, there are no parts to be had.

    Comment by Ces | July 2, 2009

  4. JavaJune, heheh – I have been referring to Houston because of heat index up to 106 degrees lately.

    Comment by Ces | July 3, 2009

  5. Fascinating! That is so funny. I don’t think it would fit in my garden though! With the cantina, it would need to be a low-rider!!! HA! Wishing you a lovely Princess-filled Holiday.

    Comment by Deborah | July 3, 2009

  6. Old cameras . . .well, old things are fascinating 🙂 Good luck on your cameras. Let’s hope they work. And curious, real curious what pictures the previous owner took on the film 🙂

    I’m not quite sure I fancy the decor in the garden. Though, hands down for being interesting 🙂 Does that reflect the people who live there? Quirky, interesting, and fun? 🙂

    Comment by MyThoughtsMyVoice | July 4, 2009

  7. You were the lucky winner at my Tea Party give away!!!
    Please email me at susanna.tunturi(@)dlc.fi
    (just remove the parenthesis)

    Comment by Susanna | July 5, 2009

  8. Good morning friend, I have a pretty award for you…please stop by and pick it up. It is a very special one.

    Comment by Deborah | July 5, 2009

  9. oh, wow, what a great weekend, and polaroids and lawn art…you have had a very good few days my friend 🙂 can’t wait to hear more about the lil kittens and the lil cameras 🙂

    hugs

    Comment by rootedinstyle | July 6, 2009


Leave a Reply

