Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

The city girl doesn’t want to meet the farmer’s wife

 IMG_1884 2

Sometimes the awful weather and low light work in my favor. I love the soft dreamy colors in this pic.

I was in the garden yesterday morning cutting back the roses and snapping a few pics when I felt as though I was being watched, kind of like I felt in the cemetery the other day. I looked around, nothing, so I got back to work. Then I heard a thud in the woods. Ah huh, just as I thought- a little watcher in the woods. There she stood stomping her feet at me . She would stomp one foot and move closer then stomp the other and get a little closer. I guess she was challenging me to a dual over the roses.

IMG_1897 2

This image looks like it was taken through a window. It wasn’t, just a low light blur because she was in mid-stop when I took it. Notice the extra set of blurred eyes in the upper left. Kind of creepy.

She eats all the pretty things in my garden whenever she gets the chance. BTW I won. She gave up after I snapped this pic and walked a little closer. I hope she didn’t get her revenge. I haven’t been out to inspect my garden yet this morning it’s too cold. Yes, I know it’s July but this is Michigan and our weather has been nuts. It’s been cold and rainy for days and making me crazy. Maybe that will explain this next paragraph.

I grew up a country girl not exactly on a farm but in the country. I lived next to my grandparents retired farm and we did have horses. I liked nothing better than hanging around the farm and assumed that I would live in the country the rest of my life. Well, I grew up and got over that in a hurry. I like the country don’t get me wrong but I prefer to live in the city with a little garden space and street lights. Recently my feelings have started to change a bit and I’m enjoying the country a little more, feeding stray cats and considering getting a camper. Getting a camper? Am I nuts? We used to camp but I was more than happy to give that up. I prefer the Holiday Inn style of camping-it’s much cleaner and the toilets always flush.

So I’m wondering what is making me change into a little bit country. It has to be this past year of insane weather that’s making me crazy and Mr. Java too. The other day he mentioned wanting to buy an old farm and plant hay for a hobby and to make a little extra cash.  I just can’t see that happening. My dreams do not include becoming a farmer’s wife. What I had in mind for the future was a little more like buying a beach house to escape the cold winter. I can definitely see myself walking the beach while picking up shells every morning, not doing chores on the farm. I love to visit the country but feel more comfortable in a neighborhood close to town. If I’m not careful I may get kicked out of the neighborhood when they find out I’m feeding two stray cats and one is pregnant. No, I’m not a crazy cat lady I just have a soft spot for animals without food. BTW I totally tamed the bob-cat he now rolls over on his back for me to scratch his belly.

I can’t believe this weekend is the forth of July already, wow! Mr. Java has his huge stash of illegal… shhh, fireworks in the garage and we’re headed to the lake to spend the day at my sister’s cottage. Last year I found a few treasures from the neighbor next door who had just moved here from Tibet. She was selling some of her cultural treasures. maybe I’ll get lucky again this year.

IMG_1919 3

This is a little spiritual niche I have in my office. A few statues, prayer wheel, a hope, faith, pray necklace I made and acloche filled with various things collected from nature. I’m sure you noticed the money at the base of my Buddha statue. That tradition was started by strangers passing by my garden. It’s a long story best saved for another day. 

Enjoy your day. Remember to take a moment or two for yourself.

xo-jj

July 2, 2009 - Posted by | me, photography, saga | , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. The deer is so beautiful! I cannot imagine having a forest behind your house. It must be lovely. I actually don’t want any of the natural inhabitants to visit my yard here! I am convinced that my cats have put an add on Craig’s List and are renting out room in the garage to strays. Oh! Cantina party, Saturday, 7 p.m. Dress appropriately. Happy 4th!

    Comment by Deborah | July 2, 2009

  2. Dear friend, I wonder if you know that before I read what you have to say on any given day, I make myself a cup of tea because I know that I will be in for a treat.

    Today was no exception.

    The pictures amazing and the writing beautiful.

    You are so magical.

    Love Renee xoxo

    Comment by Renee Khan | July 2, 2009

  3. Hi! Thank you for stopping by. I am chuckling because I was jumping all over your links and then you change your mind about this and that, I like that! I like that because I am just like that. I definitely want to change my mind all the time. In fact I make a point to do so often. Ha!

    Comment by Ces | July 2, 2009

  4. Oh… your story seems to cross paths with mine a little. I was just telling my guy the other day about growing up in Ohio. Moving from an 80 acre farm to the city… having deer and bunnies in our city back yard. My mother really, really loved the deer in our back yard (we had a forest behind us too) so she put salt licks out for them. I’m sure the neighbors that had gardens loved her for that. My mother gave up her two acre garden when we moved into the city. I was a teen and so not interested in gardening, and my father just wanted to golf all the time and not worry about the yard much. Where we are in the city here in Portland… we just don’t see deer or bunnies. Actually I don’t think there are bunnies period like in the Midwest. I think they are found closer to the mountains and the desert. We don’t have fireflys either. Without fireflys it always seems like a little bit of summer is missing. 🙂

    I love your blog. Your writing takes me on so many journeys. Sorry I rambled here today. I’ve come out of lurking mode. 🙂

    Comment by Lucinda | July 5, 2009

  5. THATS THE CUTIEST THING I COPULDVE READ TODAY A DEER PLANTS THE SEED IN BORROWERS OF THE WATER AMEN

    Comment by BOBBIE FRIEND | October 30, 2010


Leave a Reply

