Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Summer is magic

IMG_1926

Taken with g10 digital camera- no tweaking

If I were to list all the things I love, it would be way too long. Summer would be toward the top of that list. I love it for so many reasons and this summer, although not as warm as I like it, is no exception. I feel as though all year is kind of a build up to summer, just waiting to get outside and enjoy the sunshine, start a garden, take long walks, sit on the porch, go on vacation- the list is endless. This summer has been particularly strange, weather wise, but sort of magic in other ways. Just today for instance, as I sat down to get to work I saw something kind of incredible. The mama cat, that I’ve been feeding, was headed back down the trail to the secret bramble, where she hides her kittens, when she stopped dead in her tracks and crouched down. A few minutes later a deer came out of the brush and flipped her off with his nose. She ran back to the porch and he followed. I had to laugh thinking, oh no what will the big guy say about not only stray cats but stray deer coming to the porch for food.

IMG_2011

Speaking of Mama cat I went on a hunt and found her litter of four. They were very well hidden in a bramble of brush that was like a whole city. It was amazing and reminded me of a children’s fairy tale. Under neath several fallen trees is a maze of secret nooks and hidden fortresses. After several attempts to get a good look at them, the whole family slipped down a giant rabbit hole to hide. One by one they would venture back out and scamper around until they saw my watchful eye. Then shoop, they disappeared down the rabbit hole. It really was just like a story and kind of inspired me to write again. Here I go off on another tangent- stay the course Junie! Well anyway, what I was trying to say is I don’t think I’ll ever catch them, so I will befriend them the old fashioned way- with food.

I told you about my incredible camera finds last week. Well my daughter and I played with the Polaroid camera from the seventies and got a few fun pics. Taking a Polaroid is kind of like taking a bad picture with a modern camera only there is this magical retro kind of feel that’s hard to explain and of course there is the instant gratification thing. Yeah I like instant gratification and the tangible feel of a photograph developing in your hand- love that too.

daisy2

Taken with a polaroid land camera, scanned into photoshop and tweaked just a bit.

This is completely off subject but I was thinking this morning about how hard I’ve been trying to make a living at home with fine art photography and other artsy endevors. I desperately want to avoid the possibility of ever returning to the dreaded cubical world. Update… I stopped by the studio to take a peek at my inventory and had a sweet message waiting for me. I am featured in Treasury West today. Sometimes the universe gives you a sign🙂 

There comes a time when it is more painful to remain a safe little bud and the risk to open up and blossom is unavoidable. I think I’m approaching that point in my life. A time when I can no longer just stay tightly wrapped and safe. By staying in safe mode, I risk losing too much or set myself up to go back to a life of miserable office politics.

The risk of blossoming is no longer off limits but I’m not sure I know how or when to blossom. I can’t seem to get to that next level. I guess each new faze of our life has a gestation period and needs time to ripen but I feel as though I’ve been tip-toeing down this path for a long time and this path has got to lead somewhere doesn’t it? Maybe I need to take a peek down another path. No, stop! I think I’ve done  enough venturing down other paths. I think I need to learn how to stay the course. I think I ramble too much😉

Well, I think we’ve had enough enough soup and nuts for today I’ll be back tomorrow for who knows what. Oh BTW thank you dearest Debra for the wonderful Bella Sinclair award I’m thinking about who to pass the sisterhood on to so stay tuned for that. Okay something weird keeps happening this is the third time I’ve edited this and my words above keep disappearing from the published post. When ever I mention the word magic in my posts strange things happen-I think I hear the twilight zone music playing off in the distance- gottta go.

xo-junie

July 7, 2009 - Posted by | me, photography, rants | , , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. I loooooove the 1st photo!!! It´s magic!

    Comment by ViktoryiaN | July 7, 2009

  2. Love love the first photo…it’s magical! So whatcha gonna do Junie?!?! I could never go back to working in an office. I have worked at home the past 23 years! OUCH! That’s a looooonnnnng time! But it works for me. Oh. I just read the comment above and I said the same thing. Well, it must be true! Wishing you a magical day. Love, Deborah

    Comment by Deborah | July 7, 2009

  3. I’m trying to do the same thing, Junie. I’m focusing on my acting all the time. Acting and teaching acting. Have my life to be all around this. No more boring temp jobs and office work.
    I say allow you don’t know where to go. Just brainstorm and let ideas come up. The way to go will kind of naturally open up.

    Comment by Shell | July 7, 2009

  4. junie, good luck and go where your heart takes you, you know that…:-)

    Comment by libby | July 7, 2009

  5. Congrats for appearing in Treasury West! Stay the course, trust yourself because from my perspective you are about to be in full bloom.

    Comment by Lucinda | July 8, 2009


Leave a Reply

