Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Hey God, is this your way of keeping me entertained?

IMG_2014

This headlines should read:
When country critters invade her space the city girl sweeps into action but gets caught up on her cape, heals or something like that.

Dear friends, I’ve really made a mess of things and I’m afraid I may have become the cat-woman or at least a crazy one.  It all started out so innocently, really it did. This beautiful bob-tailed tom cat was continually visiting  my porch, he looked hungry and lonely, so I feed him a little dog food. Well that quickly turned into left over chicken, then cat food and then he became my friend.  I got sucked in by his gorgeous blue eyes and gentle personality. But then along came Mamma cat, a stray, that has been lurking around the field for years. She hadn’t come close to the house before but now there was lunch and dinner and well, she became my friend too. It looked as though she was pregnant so I took pity and began feeding her as well. But wait remember the tree full of kittens? Yeah, she’d already had a litter of four and brought them to see me, well more like she brought them to dinner.  So now I’m feeding two adult strays and 4 kittens but wait… now enter a third adult cat- a tom cat who tries to attack my Ricky-Bobby (not real original for a bob-tailed cat) and the mama kitty. I”ve tried to chase him away but he isn’t afraid. I’m concerned for the kittens who are still wild and won’t let me catch them so I can give them safe homes. I leave food and a bed in the garage at night for them but I can’t do that forever, I want my garage back and Mr. Java isn’t happy.

Back to the problem with the third tom-cat, I enlisted the help of my cat chasing dog but she didn’t even bark at the big tom-cat, they rubbed noses. She hates every other cat and delights in chasing Ricky-Bobby away every chance she gets, so what gives?  The other night a raccoon came looking for cat food, he tangled with the mama cat-she won. Then last night a big fat skunk tried to enter the garage to get a bite to eat. It’s getting a bit ridiculous isn’t it? “Hey up there, It’s me the witch of Wild Kingdom and I could use some navigation down here!. ”

I really don’t want to live in a house that smells like cats as you come up the walk and the big guy says, “you’ve created this mess and I don’t want any part of it.” Oh and to top all of this off the mama kitty is pregnant again. Oy vey, I think I’m in over my head and I haven’t even mentioned all of the other wild creatures who dig up my lawn and ravage the garden. I live in the city limits for gosh sakes! (I’m trying not to swear) but I’m like a magnet for wild animals, always have been- sorry Mr. Java I didn’t mean you 😉

I’m beginning to feel a bit like the witch in the old Disney movie “The three lives of Thomasina”. Gosh I loved that movie as a little girl. Now stop, I’m not that old they replayed it on the Wonderful World of Disney many, many times.  I remember Sunday nights sitting in front of the fire place watching Disney while eating popcorn- I miss those days.

Alright friends, now my garage smells like cat pee, so I’m in trouble when the mister gets home, what the hell (I couldn’t control myself any longer) what should I do? Oh and if you’re my sister and you’re laughing-stop it, or I’ll tell my friends the story about your glasses and the steamy shower! Ah huh, I knew that’d keep you quiet! Remember my post The city girl doesn’t want to meet the farmers wife? Well this city girl needs a farm and a barn!

That’s all, I’m exhausted!

xo-jj

July 10, 2009 - Posted by | confessions, me, saga, Uncategorized | , , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Oh how I enjoyed that film clip! I had forgotten about that movie. The innocense of the old Disney movies…**Sighs** Well, I see you have gotten yourself into quite a pickle, Lucy! How will you ‘splain it to the Big Guy? I do like Ricky-Bobby. I suggest building that barn for your critters.

    Comment by Deborah | July 10, 2009

  2. Don’t forget sister-dear, I have stories too! 😉 And don’t pretend this is something new – you have always attracted the wild animals- ah yes, and Mr. Java fits right in.

    Comment by Cin | July 10, 2009

  3. oh wow, junie! see what happens when you’re too nice to wild animals? (sometimes they marry you 😉 ) joke, mr java!! no, seriously, i really have no clue how to handle this, junie, i’m a true city girl who wouldn’t live anywhere close to the country! not because i’m scared, just cuz it’s boring…i like being in town around people!

    Comment by libby | July 10, 2009

  4. Why get them a litter box, of course. 🙂

    Comment by 3carnations | July 10, 2009

  5. You are cracking me up; you seriously have a bit of a mini zoo on your hands; I am so glad the cat won against the raccoon—I am a huge animal lover but for some reason (based on the raccoons around our home(s) over the years) I dislike raccoons, but I digress. Back to you sweet Junie, wow, you are in a bit of a conundrum, no? More kittens a coming ??

    lovely lady, they just know you are lovely, animals do have a sense of these things 🙂 wish I had advise, but too soft for that 🙂

    Comment by rootedinstyle | July 10, 2009

  6. Well Junie as you know we are not sisters, but I am laughing my head off too.

    Oh my God, what the heck are you going to do?

    Love Renee xoxo

    Comment by Renee Khan | July 10, 2009

  7. Has happened to me. I love cats but didn’t want one smelling up my tiny house. So I fed some cats from the neighborhood on my porch.

    And so it went, somewhat like you’ve described above.

    Comment by nightman1 | July 10, 2009


Leave a Reply

