Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Here’s to summer days, a good glass of wine, and fond memories

IMG_2150 2

Sometimes life is good just the way it is. Sometimes life looks and feels a little better after a good glass of of Pinot Noir. A little bread and great company are all I need to finish off a perfect weekend. Oh I almost forgot the chocolate truffles.

IMG_2099 crop

 

My morning walks remind me of a few years ago when I spent a week every year back-packing the Canadian shield. I loved the adventure and the challenge of living out of a 40 lb sack. The views across Lake Superior were phenomenal and the feeling of being part of nature just can’t be duplicated any other way. I quickly learned that there are eyes always watching you. As I followed a bear path through the blueberry bushes I was thinking that we were alone on the trail until we got back to our campsite and saw the foot prints and scat of a bear that had doubled back on our tracks and found my bed! I awoke the next morning to the sound of a wolf peeing on my tent. It made me nervious but also made me feel so alive. I’ve been thinking lately about that feeling and how I miss the adventures of my past. Perhaps it’s time to give up a little cush and get back out there.

Even today as I walk through the woods and hear a russle in the leaves or a stick break, I know they see me long before I know they’re around. No there are no wolves or bears where I live, just coyotes but they don’t get close enough to see very often. 

IMG_2155

 

 The herbs are are drying on the rack which means it’s mid-summer and the days are growing a wee bit shorter. I love lavender; it’s a wonderful reminder of my summer garden and a day in the sun. I wish summer would last forever!

Sending summer’s peace to you.

xo-jj

July 13, 2009 - Posted by | me, photography | , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Once again, beautiful photos, Junie! Here in the desert, summer does last forever. We are just beginning to heat up! It will not cool down until Halloween. For some reason, it always happens Halloween night, after all the moms have made lovely, delicate little costumes, Halloween day they are all scrambling to Target to get sweatshirts and leggings to put under the costumes. It’s almost a tradition. Bears frighten me. Oh, sorry, I didn’t mean to drink all your wine! **kisskiss** Deb

    Comment by Deborah | July 13, 2009

  2. Your backpacking days sounds amazing. Yes, summer is an beautiful time. I cherish each day.

    Comment by Shell | July 13, 2009

  3. Hi Junie, thanks for the comment on my Birthday post. I think I’ve visited you before. Geez, I now have a sudden urge to go backpacking and to dry lavender, I wonder why? ;D

    Comment by Annie | July 13, 2009


Leave a Reply

