Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Lingering in a summer’s day

IMG_2668

 

My mind is quiet as the light is lingering in a dance on the lawn and the trees are gently bending in a late afternoon breeze. It’s perfect, really, warm enough for a tank top and shorts but not hot enough to force a sweat. The sunflowers are bright and cheerful as the smell of grilled chicken floats thru the neighborhood. I could stay in this moment forever, summer sun, garden flowers, succulent food on the grill, gentle breezes in my hair and the a little wren bringing dinner back to the nest. Summer afternoons are a perfect time for curious minds to wander while a tired body rests. My thoughts are misty but recognizable. I see lush gardens in the mist and hear the ocean just beyond my tattered little cottage that sits amongst the roses over looking a craggy cliff to the ocean. It’s so serene and perfect just like this summer afternoon.

dear summer,

please stay for a little while longer or maybe forever. I love everything about you: your warm breath, bright and beautiful skies, flower filled fields, and even a little sweat here and there. I would trade an evening by the fire, my sexy leather boots and favorite pair of woolen mittens for an eternal summer, if only you would stay.

IMG_2785

Free to just be…..

xo-jj

July 30, 2009 - Posted by | me, photography, rants | , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Spectacular shots of these brilliant and joy insisting sunflowers. Your work is so full of emotion. Sea Witch

    Comment by Sea Witch | July 30, 2009

  2. Beautiful shot of beautiful flowers. Lovely writing of summer. But not a desert summer. It does last forever here. So I was thinking that I should summer at your home!

    Comment by Deborah | July 30, 2009

  3. i love this, junie!

    Comment by libby | July 30, 2009

  4. The sunflowers are soooooo yellow LOL it is a happy color. Oh but wouldn’t it be nice to miss and look forward of summer when it has already passed? Although, I don’t think I would . . . could endure winter. Nope. Good thing we don’t have one here 🙂

    Mizpah,
    Li

    Comment by MyThoughtsMyVoice | July 30, 2009

  5. Look at these sunny and beautiful sunflowers. I may be anomaly, I do enjoy all the seasons. Each one has a quiet beauty and energy to them.

    Comment by Shell | July 30, 2009


Leave a Reply

