Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Flash back in a cup

 

IMG_2804

My usual morning involves a strong cup of Java and a moment or two spent here with you but I decided to change things up a bit this morning. So I lit the Sandalwood incense I recently picked up in a quaint little shop a few miles to the north and poured myself a cup of Yogi Tea, Woman’s Moon Cycle to be exact. There I sat gazing out the window while experiencing the complex aroma of an earthy sandal wood smoke. The tea’s spicy scent reminded me of my youth and a hot bowl of cinnamon oatmeal. It did deliver on the harmony it promised but it was the little something else it provided that I liked most- a flash back to my youth. Perhaps it was the incense and not the tea but never -the- less, it was a fun trip.

I remember 5th grade, my best girl friends and a boy that each wanted to claim as their boyfriend. Quite honestly I didn’t find him anything special (sorry Brent) but just the mere fact that he was wanted by all meant that yes I wanted him too. So the leader of the pack, not me, decided that we should put together a multiple choice love letter which gave him the option to choose his girl.

It went something like this: If you love Sonja check this box, If you love Denise check this box, If you love Junie check this box and so on and so forth. Well this boy was no dummy and wasn’t going to cut out any of his options, so of course he checked every girl’s box- apparently he loved us all 😉  This meant we had to take turns at recess holding hands with this lucky three-timing boy. I wonder if Brent has ever settled for just one woman.

I enjoyed a moment of retro bliss and the memories were special but I still feel a little sleepy and may have to pour myself a stiff cup of Joe after all. Old habits die hard ya know. Have a harmonious weekend.

xo-jj

July 31, 2009 - Posted by | bad boys, lovers, me | , , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. June,

    Thank you for visiting my blog and viewing my studio space and for your sweet comments. What a wonderful diary entry! I do so love a good story. As a writer myself I appreciate personal memory stories. Your story reminded me of a kissing game once played on our playground at school, fun memory. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I’ll bookmark you and be back for more visits.

    Comment by Sandy | July 31, 2009

  2. Good morning Junie. I have survived a week full of partying! Hubby and I have discovered at our advanced age that staying up late and sleep deprivation causes the same affect as alcohol. We can feel hung over without the alcohol. So sad. Ryan heads off to Philly later this afternoon to visit his girlfriend so we will get a little rest for a week! He is having a wonderful time. Hopefully I will regain usage of enough brain cells to do a post soon! **blows kisses** Deb

    Comment by Deborah | July 31, 2009

  3. A sweet memory to share with us. The tea sound tasty, something I should try myself.

    Comment by Shell | July 31, 2009

  4. junie–aaahaaaah! i knew you had some memories locked up in there!! i think it was the sandalwood scent, i LOVE that stuff!!

    Comment by libby | August 2, 2009

  5. LOL I don’t think I remember as a little girl having a crush and doing that with friends 🙂 How cute and funny. Did you ever wonder whatever happened to that charming boy who caught you and your friends wee hearts? I’m curious too 🙂

    Li

    Comment by MyThoughtsMyVoice | August 4, 2009


Leave a Reply

