Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Looming

IMG_2809 2

 

Just as the skies sometimes tease of storms looming overhead the Pacific North West is taunting me to come closer. Lately I’ve had several interruptions that have made it difficult for me to concentrate on my work. The smell of the ocean wafts by and leads my mind to another place. As hard as I try to ignore the call this nagging feeling  just won’t go away. I’m dreaming of craggy coastlines and sandy beaches and I can almost feel the wash trickle between my toes. It’s driving me crazy!

In just over a week I’ll be flying out to Portland Oregon for a few days. This trip is packed with things to do, mostly business, but I can hear a voice that is getting louder with each passing day. It’s the call of the sea and she knows my name.

I’m drawn to the sound of waves crashing on the shore and the taste of salty droplets on my lips. The smell of the ocean and the sound of the surf always rejuvenate my soul.  I long to walk the coastline in my bare feet and feel the pebbly sand between my toes. The time I’ve spent along the Atlantic and the Gulf coasts have been the best of my days but I have never stepped foot on the Pacific coast. This voice keeps repeating the fact that I will be only 80 miles from the shore line and what a tragedy it would be if I came that far and didn’t fulfil my dream of walking along the pacific coast. Usually Mr. java is there to say no, we have too much to do, focus and forget about it, but this time he won’t be there. How will I resist the temptation? Who will be there to say no?

Well, to my surprise Mr. Java said go ahead rent a car and take a trip to the coast, while your there. What? you mean I won’t have to sneak off to the beach for the day and later while on the plane ride home concoct some long story of how I couldn’t help myself and that it was a moment of weakness that pulled me westward. 

My heart lept and my mind got all warm and fuzzy as I saw my self facing the surf with the wind blowing through my hair and for just a tiny moment I could hear the sound of waves crashing down on the shore.

 I can’t believe it I’m going to a place I have never been. Holy **** I’m going to the Pacific coast!

Photo courtesy of Surf-rider.org

xo-jj

August 3, 2009 - Posted by | me, rants | , , , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. I must go down to the seas again, to the vagrant gypsy life. To the gull’s way and the whale’s way where the wind’s like a whetted knife;And all I ask is a merry yarn from a laughing fellow-rover,And quiet sleep and a sweet dream when the long trick’s over — John Edward Masefield. I understand the call you feel, go to the water and rejuvinate. Sea Witch

    Comment by Sea Witch | August 3, 2009

  2. Oh lovely! Do swing south to the desert, to Mr. B’s Cantina. I will be the ditzy blonde wearing the large sombrero with the Margarita in hand…

    Comment by Deborah | August 3, 2009

  3. Mmm, sounds tempting!

    Comment by javajune | August 3, 2009

  4. Enjoy…it is fabulous. A photographers dream….capture it and share it with me!

    Comment by Kara Ward | August 3, 2009

  5. Enjoy all that ocean goodness. I need to get some Ocean breezes myself.

    Comment by Shell | August 3, 2009

  6. Aaawwww you get to visit the beach. I do miss it. It is beautiful, isn’t it? I like to visit one that is not too crowded. You know, when you are the only one or just a few people. It is such a nice moment. You’re right, i also like the wind of the ocean breeze through me 🙂

    Li

    Comment by MyThoughtsMyVoice | August 4, 2009

  7. The Pacific is different than the Atlantic and the Gulf coast, it’s wilder, seems wider, bigger…, and is colder too. I spend a few days driving along the coast of Oregon (by myself) after attending a meditation course an our east of Eugene…, and I was so glad I did.

    Comment by Maya@Completely-Coastal | August 7, 2009


Leave a Reply

