Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Recalculating

IMG_2887 2

I told you it was beginning to look and feel like fall in my neck of the woods. See the mist that hangs in the air. This was taken last evening shortly before sunset. It’s brisk out this morning and requires a jacket. brrrrrr

You know that little voice that speaks up and changes the flow of your journey in mid-stream? No I’m not talking about the lady in your GPS system; I’m talking about that inner voice that says “hey your going the wrong way.” Do you know her? I have one of those but the trouble with my guide is that she frequently says “recalculating” but doesn’t explain where I’m supposed to be going or how I am to get there.

I’m on this creative journey and there are so many things I wanna do (like make a photo journal) and places I wanna go (like somewhere on the other side of the ocean) but there never seems to be enough time or money for any of it. I envision my life as this infinite thing with time and space for everything but I am a realist and know the reality of that dream. One of my goals is to live to be 100, so I can experience all the changes in society and yes, so I will have time to do everything imaginable. Life should be simple and one’s heart should be content with simple things but I’m just not that kind of girl.

My mind wanders, my curiosity leaps, as my heart yearns for more. What makes us simple or complicated and how can some be so content in the place they are standing, no matter how dull or insignificant it may seem? Perhaps their system isn’t equipped with that annoying little GPS-like voice that says “recalculating” every time they take a wrong turn or deviate from the path.

My map is complicated and the roads don’t have names. There are so many destinations that I haven’t met, but intend to, in time. I’ve walked through fields of flowers and the sidewalks of Times Square, I’ve enjoyed the essence of sea-spray on my cheeks, and climbed mountains in Montana, I’ve swam the Great Lakes and sailed in a boat ten miles across the Atlantic ocean but I know there is so much more just waiting to be discovered. My guide sometimes speaks in a foreign language and I have to do my best to interpret her message. So far this journey has been worth every moment but where is it taking me? Maybe I don’t I need to know that answer. Perhaps I should close my eyes and enjoy the ride, with ups and downs that sometimes mimic the thrill of a roller-coaster? I could raise my arms and scream at every turn. I should ignore the voice that says “recalculating” and press on.

IMG_2895 

I’m still trying to tame little Willow (I just don’t know when to give up). We’ve made a connection but she still won’t let me get close enough to touch her. I want to run my fingers through her fluffy coat in the worst way. Isn’t she beautiful?

(If you don’t have a GPS in your car and are totally confused with my post or the comparison I’m making, let me explain. Most GPS systems come with an audible voice that will say something like this,” in 300 yards/meters turn left on route 66″ and if you miss your turn, this voice suddenly interrupts with the word “recalculating.” She then sends you on a detour to regain your place on the intended path.)

Well, not only do I have  that voice as part of the GPS in my car I also have a similar voice that lives in my head and frequently tries to keep me on the right path. The problem is, I don’t know where she’s sending me and I’m not sure why I can’t make a few side trips here and there. Can anyone else relate?

Here’s a youtube video of the system that lives in my car (not my head).

She’s a little annoying, isn’t she?

Well, I’m off to get some editing done and pics listed in my shop. Didn’t I say I was going to do that yesterday?

Recalculating!

xo-jj

August 6, 2009 - Posted by | confessions, me, photography | , , , , , , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. I Love yr “neck of the woods” image.
    thanx for sharing

    Comment by namelessneed | August 6, 2009

  2. That’s just crazy! Weather like fall and we are frying out here in the desert! LoVe the picture of Willow-beautiful lighting. I like this post. You have wanderlust. Be content in that. Perhaps you can’t afford to go far right now, but you do make every little trip a journey. **kisskiss** Deb

    Comment by Deborah | August 6, 2009

  3. You’re right Deb, I do have wanderlust-do you know the cure?
    xo-jj

    Comment by javajune | August 6, 2009

  4. Oh my goodness, sooooo mutch kindness. I love your Rolls Royce blog too!!

    Regards from Agneta in Sweden

    Comment by agneta | August 6, 2009

  5. Willow is beautiful. One day, she’ll surprise you and come up to on her own.
    The best thing is you have to follow your GPS. What I do, I just let go for a while. Let myself be led by my intuition when I feel lost or frustrated. I’m always led back to my path.

    Comment by Shell | August 6, 2009

  6. I think this is one of my favorite postings that you have written. “My mind wanders, my curiosity leaps” speaks so much of how I move through this world. So much to take in, to experience. Powerful yet gentle is the photo of the mist hanging in the air. I remember these types of mornings while living in 4-season regions. Brisk, clean, exuberant! Now, dear Junnie, seek not to tame the sweet Willow. She knows you are a kind and gentle soul, but she will come when she is ready. All 4-leggeds do. Wishing you a magnficent weekend. Sea Witch

    Comment by Sea Witch | August 7, 2009

  7. I think this is one of my favorite postings that you have written. “My mind wanders, my curiosity leaps” speaks so much of how I try and move through this world. So much to take in, to experience. Powerful yet gentle is the photo of the mist hanging in the air. I remember these types of mornings while living in 4-season regions. Brisk, clean, exuberant! Now, dear Junnie, seek not to tame the sweet Willow. She knows you are a kind and gentle soul, but she will come when she is ready. All 4-leggeds do. Wishing you a magnficent weekend. Sea Witch

    Comment by Sea Witch | August 7, 2009

  8. I have that GPS also. It has been chattering like crazy since I lost my job and it’s been a nice change in direction but full of instability and uncertainty.

    Comment by Ricardo | August 7, 2009

  9. Well, I like that you are complicated. Are you really? Your mind, that is 🙂 I think it is interesting to have such people around. Mine is such a bore LOL

    Maybe the GPS voice is annoying, but the voice inside you is I bet much more exciting when it’s recalculating 🙂 Cause then you’ll be off to new adventures. Yup, definitely more exciting. But we do tend to worry at that point when it happens (the recalculating phase) I do! It’s like being lost out there. Oh boy.

    I wonder where yours will lead you to. 🙂

    Comment by MyThoughtsMyVoice | August 12, 2009


Leave a Reply

