Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

A toad is never just a toad

IMG_2916 3

 A little tree toad (frog) waving his peace sign. He lives on my deck and sometimes sings me to sleep.

As I ready a suit case and line up my clothes in an effort to pack for an up-coming trip, I am once again struck by a bag of mixed emotions and uneasy thoughts. This always happens to me when I am about to take a trip. It’s silly really, all the what if’s get together and form this ugly mass that is menacing and gets in the way of me just letting go and simply enjoying my trip. I love to travel and dream of it every chance I get but for some reason I worry about crazy things like: what if I never get to come back home to the people and things I love, what if something awful happens while I’m gone, what if the dog gets lost, the house burns down, someone dies, my plane crashes and so on  and so forth.  I can’t take everyone and everything with me when I travel, so I take my worries and emmotional baggage instead. Just once I would like to let go and really enjoy the moment, the experience, the culture and my passion to explore without worries. When I close my eyes I see new places to explore, like unfamiliar city streets, trendy shops, I hear street cars, see mountains and smell a hint of sea spray behind my ear. A relaxing trip is just like a good meditation; it leaves you with a clear head and restored body.

Life is complicated and things are never quite as they seem. The way something appears on the surface is deceiving and there is so much more hidden beneath the surface. Taking a trip should be simple, you plan, pack and travel. If only it were just that simple. I’m still very excited about my trip and can’t wait to step foot off the plane in Oregon even though my feelings are complicated. I think worrying is a bad habit that’s hard to break.

It’s okay, this is just a process I go through, nothing to worry about. I’ll paint my dark canvas and then the sun will come out and melt the dark shadows into a haze of warm sparkly bliss. This process always reminds me of a verse from the song “Thick as a Brick” by Jethro Tull.

The Poet and the painter casting shadows on the water —
as the sun plays on the infantry returning from the sea.
The do-er and the thinker: no allowance for the other —
as the failing light illuminates the mercenaries creed.
The home fire burning: the kettle almost boiling —
but the master of the house is far away.
The horses stamping — their warm breath clouding
in the sharp and frosty morning of the day.
And the poet lifts his pen while the soldier sheaths his sword.

And the youngest of the family is moving with authority.
Building castles by the sea, he dares the tardy tide to wash them all aside.

I love that- it paints such a picture for me as I pack up all the needful things that will accompany me on my trip.

Good tune -Enjoy!

 

My words but a whisper….

xo-jj

August 10, 2009 - Posted by | me, nasty habits, photography | , , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Jethro Tull, on of my favorites…and I am really dating myself now. When my son first took up the flute many many decades ago he was teased because it wasn’t a “real rockers” instrument. I pulled out my old Jethro Tull records and 8-tracks and played his wonderful music for him and my son was hooked and never had an issue with what was a true rockers instrument again. Thanks for the wonderful memory. Sea Witch

    Comment by Sea Witch | August 10, 2009

  2. Oh I love Jethro Tull! In high school friends and I had an underground newspaper and I wrote a review on the concert. We were such little intellectual rebels! Happy memories. Thank you for bring them back. I get that way getting ready for a trip too. Once I’m on the plane, everything is fine. Well, sort of…I am that woman with the rosary on take off and landing! Wouldn’t it be great if you could leave your baggage and not take it back home? Happy packing. Deb

    Comment by Deborah | August 10, 2009

  3. Thanks for the reminder to put my worry stones and rosary in my carry-on. My flight is too early for a drink so I’ll need them- well maybe not too early for a bloody mary 😉

    Comment by javajune | August 10, 2009

  4. I think that is about the best frog-or-toad picture I’ve ever seen. He seems to be looking out at the world as you are right now — guardedly but with undimmable interest.

    Comment by nightman1 | August 10, 2009

  5. Every thing you do is beautiful Junie.

    Love Renee xoxo

    Comment by Renee Khan | August 19, 2009


Leave a Reply

