Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Journey to the other-side

IMG_2943

Someone once said,

“Two roads diverged in a wood, and I- took the one less traveled by, and that has made all the difference. “

I’ve always had a secret desire to buy an old VW hippy van and travel across the US with my camera, a notebook and an open mind. I would love the adventure of an open road laid out before me and the nostalgia of a retro ride not to mention the great gas mileage. So as I embark on my journey in the air to the Pacific North West I will close my eyes and imagine that I’m making this journey on the open road, in this….

I found this pic on Wheels weekly- I love it.  Now imagine my face behind the wheel with a big smile. Get packed Jana, my stylish friend, I’m headed your way and yes your bare feet are welcome on the dash. I can see us now with the wind in our hair and not a care on our faces as we head into Portland to pick up an artsy goddess named Lucinda on our way to the beach. We’ll be having a claim bake in the sand and everyone is invited to join us. Lisa, the beautiful world traveler, is headed up the coast in her sports car for the unravelling reunion. I can’t wait to meet her. I know Susannah the unravelling queen  and many others will be there.  There will be laughter and tears that will last for several days. Music playing, cameras clicking and wine flowing as the surf tumbles across our feet.

That’s my fantasy trip but reality is quite different. I’m headed to Portland Oregon with my son to get him set up for a college internship. There will be many details to tidy up and then a sad goodbye as I leave him in in the north west and return home alone. I’m happy he is taking this opportunity but sad that he’ll be so far from home. I know it’s only a plane ride away but a flight to Pacific North West is damned expensive.  That V-dub bus is looking better all the time.

This trip will be busy but we’ll take some time for fun, a jaunt to the west coast and a visit with my Unravelling friend Lucinda, but this growing up stuff is hard to except. I’m thankful and sad at the same time. So the real deal is that I will be headed to the Detroit airport a little before 5am tomorrow morning to board a plane headed westward.  Deborah, The Mid-life Poet, and sweetest girl in blog-land, has promised to be floating in the pool as I  fly-over around 10:45 Michigan time.  I will return next week and resume a normal life of a mid-western girl.

It’s time for a little more caffeine and a lot of busy work getting ready for the trip. I have bags to pack, a house to clean, errands to run and hugs to give before I embark on my journey across the country. Leave me your thoughts and words of wisdom and I will try to check in during the trip. 

Oregon is a beautiful place with it’s many bridges over rivers that are cut out of the mountains, on a rage toward the sea. I hope to have some insightful moments and wonderful images to share with all of you when I return but for now I leave you with a quote from one of my faves by Norman Maclean.

“Eventually, all things merge into one, and a river runs through it. The river was cut by the world’s great flood and runs over rocks from the basement of time. On some of the rocks are timeless raindrops. Under the rocks are the words, and some of the words are theirs.
I am haunted by waters.”

Bye for now.

Take care.

xo-jj

Let the journey begin…

August 11, 2009 - Posted by | me, rants, saga | , , , , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. I LoVe the journal you made. Ever so clever Junie. It will be a lovely trip and it will be tearful leaving your son. Hard letting go sometimes…I completely understand. We saw a small group of Army recruits at the airport this morning. Funny to think that it was only 17 months ago that it was Ryan in that position, filled with excitement and a bit of fear of what was to come. Oh how life just keeps moving on. Wishing you a joy-filled and safe trip, my friend. I will miss you. **blows kisses** Deb

    Comment by Deborah | August 11, 2009

  2. this is a great journey, both the imaginary and the real one. I can’t even fathom dropping my children off for college, but my husband always reminds me that they grow up in stages, and AJ is starting pre-k, so that’s big enough for now (yes, we will be quite old when they graduate high school).

    I would be so honored to be a fellow traveler on this road trip, and yes, I can imagine the warmth, the laughther, the beautiful sharing and yummy foods🙂

    I totally wish I could afford to be in Portland when you visit this week—a girl can dream. We can always hope and plan for a real reunion—or union with our fellow unravellers🙂

    peace and safe travels sweet friend.

    Comment by rootedinstyle | August 11, 2009

  3. beautiful imagery.

    and i’m so happy to be included. sports car, huh? not sure i’m quite that cool, but i’d happily show up in my hybrid and bring some wine that i’ll pick up from a fabulous central coast organic vineyard along the way…

    blessings to you and your son on this milestone moment…

    xoxo lisa

    Comment by doorways traveler | August 11, 2009

  4. Oh wouldn’t that be fun – a road trip on your own bus with your camera. Discovering, and at the same time enjoying. Oh the many places you can go to . . . and unlike buses, you get to stop to wherever you want.

    TO dream . . .very nice.

    Back to reality: I hope you have a safe trip going and returning back home. And that all will be well for your son.

    Li

    Comment by MyThoughtsMyVoice | August 12, 2009

  5. JJ have fun on that trip and I like this idea about a JJ love bus. Let me know if it makes a stop in CT.

    Comment by Ricardo | August 13, 2009

  6. Okay… how lucky am I? I just spent a few hours with JJ and it was delightful. I hope my Saturday opens up more and I can spend a little more time with her. Okay… not only was I lucky enough to meet another unraveller – but she gave me the journal pictured in this post. It’s adorable! I love it! Thank you sweet lady.

    Comment by Lucinda | August 13, 2009

  7. jj–what a great thing to have going on! you can handle it! & this is an awesome thing for your son!!

    Comment by libby | August 13, 2009

  8. Junie! I truly hope that your trip will
    be a good one despite the fact that
    you’ll be leaving your baby there.
    Be safe and HAVE FUN!!

    Comment by .kat. | August 13, 2009


Leave a Reply

