Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Letting go; A mother’s journey

IMG_3035 2

I’ve returned home with mixed emotions dancing around in my head but my heart is filled with joy. Joy for the moments and people in my life, joy for the opportunities and beauty the universe has to offer and joy in this very moment here with you.  It’s important to get lost in the moments and let go of some of the self-control that runs our lives. That grip can squeeze every once of goodness out of the present time. Some times it’s important to slow down and  just breathe, cloud gaze, dig in the dirt, feel gratitude and cultivate that inner smile.

I’m lingering an inner smile that feels a bit like the slippery moments that are enjoyed during the in-between state of consciousness.  My mind is wandering, reflecting, but mostly enjoying the tiny joyful moments of my life that are strung closely together.

IMG_2975 2

My trip was filled with moments, of feeling lost without care, discovery of new places and people, taking in the sights of a beautiful landscape and the feeling of letting go. Opening up and letting go can be painful but it can also be a beautiful thing. We wandered the city of Portland without any concept of time and experienced a culture that was new and somewhat unusual.

IMG_3075 2

 I met up with my wonderful on-line friend, Lucinda, and she took me sight seeing along the gorge. Thank you Lucinda, you’re a beautiful person! The next morning  my son and I journeyed westward through miles of forests until we reached the ocean shore. We then drove across the beach with sea-spray in our hair and a laugh in our hearts. It was a beautiful moment of madness and freedom as I began to let go. My control flowed out the window and tumbled across the beach until it met with the sea. Who knows where it went from there.

 IMG_3013 2

Our wandering took us to the mountains and back. It was a series of beautiful moments of self- discovery and sharing. Good-byes are never easy but quite often necessary. Infinite love is something a mother fully understands. The landscape was only a symbol for what we were about to experience as mother and child. The act of letting go of someone you love, so that he can soar, is like climbing a mountain. There are moments of pain and difficulty that must be endured. My difficulty was answered back with a veiw that was more beautiful and liberating than anything thus far. The sight of my child spreading his wings with the courage to leave the nest is one of those joyful moments.

IMG_3116 2

 “Something good will come of this.”  I told myself as I boarded the plane alone. I felt my body lighten as I opened up to the moment and all the infinite possibilities that life has to offer and then I was truly free, just like the clouds outside my window.

IMG_3117

 

Someone once said, “The key elements of life are time and people.”

Let go and just breathe, Junie, just breathe!

xo-jj

August 18, 2009 - Posted by | confessions, me, photography, Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. I’m so glad that you had that
    time to spend freely with your
    son Junie! :o) Beautiful phrase
    to sum up beautiful time spent.

    Comment by .kat. | August 18, 2009

  2. Junie you have totally lifted me up.

    Love Renee xoxo

    Comment by Renee Khan | August 18, 2009

  3. Yay! You got to drive on the beach. You got to get that perfect shot of Mt. Hood. You hiked through clear-cut (tear). I’m sorry that it didn’t work out seeing you again on Saturday. I hope the city treated you well and you experienced it as much as possible. You are beautiful too and I’m so glad we got to meet. Thank you again for the lovely journal. Such a nice thought and lovely gift. Hugs!

    Comment by Lucinda | August 18, 2009

  4. Beautiful photos. I’m so happy you got to the ocean. Is this son your youngest? It must have been so difficult leaving him and he must have been so excited. Happy new beginnings in between the tears…Love, Deb

    Comment by Deborah | August 18, 2009

  5. You have given your son a wonderful gift…the freedom to discover life on his own terms with all of the love and guidance you have given him over the years. Like the ocean that received all of your doubts and concern and control, the tides will return to you all of the love you share for each other. Imagine all of the wonderful things he will share with you upon his return. You will see the adult in this child and your reflection in his eyes. Hugs. Sea Witch

    Comment by Sea Witch | August 18, 2009

  6. Hey Junie, Just missing my sweet unravelling sisters and I decided to visit you tonight. What a wonderful time you could spend with your son. I’m feeling a little of what you’re feeling but on a much smaller scale. You see, he’s starting pre-K (everyday for half/day) and it’s hard to let go so they can grow. I haven’t kept up w/my “unravelling blog” but if you want to really see the real me come visit

    http://www.amberandstephen.com/amber/

    Comment by Amber | August 18, 2009

  7. jj, these are amazing pictures! and i’m sure the memories they bring back for you and your son are ones that’ll never be forgotten!

    Comment by libby | August 18, 2009

  8. hey, junie, i just ran across this blog, and it really looks like one you’d like, the colors & artwork…
    http://lenore-nevermore.blogspot.com/

    Comment by libby | August 19, 2009

  9. JJ this is some breathtaking stuff to get lost in. No wonder you were a mix of emotions,you were likely inspired.

    Comment by Ricardo | August 20, 2009

  10. thanx for sharing yr emotional views while experiencing Portland and the great NW. My favorite photo was yr first, the window w/reflection (doesn’t that kinda say it all?)

    Comment by namelessneed | August 24, 2009


Leave a Reply

