Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

The Enchanted Garden

IMG_3068

Loved this little cottage of garden treasures.

During our winding drive along hwy 101 to the sea shore in Washington State we passed a sign that said, The painted lady lavender farm. Well of course I was intrigued, to say the least, so I pulled my little car up the stone path toward a most enchanted garden. What a magical place of sweet lavender and secret recipes. A cozy fireplace welcomed us to a little sitting area hidden by lovely flowering vines.  I cut a bouquet of lavender during our tour of edible plants (daylillies, etc). This was like a secret garden of little cottages inhabited by tiny creatures (chickens and other poultry type beasts) The owners were very kind but quite eccentric. They used secret recipes to produce all kinds of jellies and jams.  Sue insisted that my son take a bite of a chanterelle mushroom before we left. She gathered them to use in her special soup the next day. He was convinced that he would experience some heavy hallucinations afterward but luckily that didn’t happen.  hee, he

lavender lady

This photo was borrowed from  Essences of the past on blogger

It was a very interesting and welcomed stop on our long drive that day- spontaneous moments and unexpected stops are the best. We headed back down the hillside toward the seaside town of Illwaco with a fragrant bouquet of lavender in my lap and a jar of sweet strawberry jam in his, still giggling about the interesting sights and conversations we left behind.

xo-jj

August 27, 2009 - Posted by | me, secrets | , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Oh I LoVe that little shop. Sooooo cute. I want to live there. Wait. I can’t stand cold and rain. Terminal hippies run it? I would love to have a little garden shed like that in my yard, but I may have run out of room…

    Comment by Deborah | August 27, 2009

  2. It sounds enchanted and romantic. The sort of place I love to visit myself.

    Comment by Shell | August 27, 2009

  3. Oh I thought you pulled off the beaten path and ran into the lady in the last photo. Seems like she’s got some stories tell, right?

    Comment by Ricardo | September 1, 2009


Leave a Reply

