Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Little words- big message

IMG_3306

Several years ago on a warm and sunny fall day, I came across a deserted beach along lake Superior.  As I walked along the shore with my collecting bucket (to gather smooth lake/worry stones) I noticed something very unusual; every few feet there was a word or saying painted on the rocks- things like be happy, smile, don’t judge, love, etc. I instantly smiled because some soulful spirit had left a beautiful message behind just for me. What a perfect way to connect with someone you will most likely never meet. If you think about it we connect with each other all the time by what we leave behind, sometimes it intentional, sometimes it’s not.

IMG_3297 2

Since that day I have shared a little found words with strangers from time to time. The dry river bed that runs through my garden harbors a few such messages as it twists and turns between the plants. Every once in a while I pack up a rock or two and leave them along an out of the way path so someone else can experience the unexpected joy that I did on that perfect fall day along the beach.

IMG_3316

Some day as you’re walking along life’s path you may come across a smooth stone with a positive message that was left by me for you to find. Now that would be amazing!  I love the opportunity to make a stranger smile.

“Every day your life changes just a little- make it a positive change!”

xo-jj

September 8, 2009 - Posted by | Hello Miss Manners, me | , , , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Junie, you are my spirit sister! The little sis I always longed for. As a teenager, I wrote poetry and scripture on river rocks. River rocks are in abundance here in the desert with the Salt River. I love the rocks with messages left for others. Stephanie (NieNie Dialogues) and her little ones wrote happy messages on paper and hid them up and down Main Street for others to find. They hid and watched as strangers read the notes. It was such a lovely post. I shall try find the link for you. Of course, that was before she almost died in the plane crash. Here is her link…she is my HERO.
    http://nieniedialogues.blogspot.com/
    **happy smiles** Deb

    Comment by Deborah | September 8, 2009

  2. that is such a neat thing to do, junie! i love it~!

    Comment by libby | September 8, 2009

  3. I love the idea of connecting with other in this way. There is an artist here in NYC called De La Vega. He use to leave inspirational quotes all over the city. I use to love to find them and feel like the message was just for me.

    Comment by Shell | September 8, 2009

  4. You are a messenger and will continue to touch lives unknown. Sea Witch

    Comment by Sea Witch | September 8, 2009

  5. How sweet is that! 🙂 And because of that day, I see you passed it on. Who knows, maybe the person who stumbled on your rock was really troubled or sad and when he/she sees it, well, you just made his day.

    It is a beautiful thought. And I like that kind of surprises. oooohhhhh should I pass it on too here across the globe – in my wee corner? 🙂

    Li

    Comment by MyThoughtsMyVoice | September 9, 2009

  6. I always enjoy yr images (I think that “don’t skip me” would work too)

    Comment by namelessneed | September 24, 2009

  7. […] Just a little message left along the trail in your honor. If you missed my previous post about found words left here and there you can catch up here. […]

    Pingback by My Brat Pack « Javajune's Blog | October 9, 2009


Leave a Reply

