Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Cozy incarceration

IMG_1774

It’s quickly approaching the time of year when our thoughts turn inward. It’s time to cozy up our homes with a warm blanket or a new set of flannel sheets.  Freshly baked pumpkin muffins and a hot cup of tea  comes to mind as the perfect afternoon snack. I am not a fan of winter but I do enjoy cozy thoughts, like a big bowl of homemade soup, (wide egg noodles, chicken stock, roaster chicken, chanterelle mushrooms, fresh herbs and lots of garlic) a cup of hot chocolate with whipped cream, or a pair of fuzzy slippers and a thick fury blanket.

I’ve begun the process of cozying up my home with a few softly scented candles and a new fofur sofa throw. I’m currently on the hunt for the perfect pair of cozy slippers and a new pair of woolen mittens. The long dark winter of cold and incarceration makes me feel as though I’m being punished, which initiates the sense of entitlement that forces me to treat myself to a few comforts along the way. I have yet to make it through a holiday shopping season without buying myself a new pair of warm pj’s and a fresh set of flannel sheets.  The notion that finding the perfect pair of boots and a few other toasty accessories will somehow make the winter a little more tolerable has been debunked but that doesn’t stop me from trying it again and again. So I’m gearing up for the up-coming months of hibernation but I’m trying to enter this season with fresh eyes and an upbeat attitude. A few months of cozy incarceration never killed anybody, right? If you said right, then I have to ask- how well do you know Junie? Cabin fever here I come!!!

xo-jj

November 3, 2009 - Posted by | me, rants | , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Cozy “is” flannel sheets, soft and warm pjs, fresh tea leaves brewing and then topped with a little heavy whipping creme for true indulgence, and then a warm and toasty, my belly smells likes fresh bagels, dog at your feet. Yea, that’s cozy. Sea Witch

    Comment by Sea Witch | November 3, 2009

  2. Sounds so lovely and cozy. If I bring you new slippers, may I stay for the weekend? **blows kisses** Deb

    Comment by Deborah | November 3, 2009


Leave a Reply

