Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

She’s a little quirky but I’m keeping her

IMG_3980 2

 

Several years ago while on a vintage treasure hunt I came across an old chair. It was simple and sturdy but what I found most intriguing was the chippy paint and delicate details.  I didn’t have a plan for it, so there it sat in my office, lonely and bare, until a few months ago when I decided to give it a purpose and adorned it with a quirky vignette in pink. The hat was found at a vintage clothing shop and the umbrella was used for a recent photo shoot but the shoes are special. They are seldom worn and aren’t the easiest things to walk in but when I do, I become a princess. Why you ask? Well, it could be the silky fabric or maybe it’s the ruffle detail and perfect craftmanship. They are beautiful but I think it’s the way they delicately grace my foot and come to the perfect little point that make them special. It takes me back to a time when I was a little girl playing dress-up in grandma’s closet. 

There is a part of me that desperately wants to de-clutter this place and live in a house of clean lines and open spaces but then that other girl with her quirky style comes out and leaves her trinkets and treasures all over the house. There are days when she really gets on my nerves but at other times she makes me smile and reminds me of the little girl living inside this woman in the mirror.

xo-jj

November 16, 2009 - Posted by | me, nasty habits | , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Oh Junie, I LoVe your quirky trikets and treasures all over! That display is art!!! Beeeeutiful art. You’ve got the magic touch, like Vanessa, in setting the stage. Don’t change, not one little bit. **sings I love you just the way you are** Deb

    Comment by Deborah | November 16, 2009

  2. Those shoes look like a pair Marie Antoinette
    would have had in her collection! They’re so
    pretty! The little girl inside must ALWAYS be
    able to play! YAY for her. ;o)

    Comment by .kat. | November 16, 2009

  3. Quirkly is always in! Or at leaat it is in my world (our worlds). Sea Witch

    Comment by Sea Witch | November 16, 2009


Leave a Reply

