Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Feeling kind-of groovy

 

There’s nothing like meeting an old friend you haven’t seen in over 25 years. We were high school buddies that lost touch after graduation. We hugged, we laughed, we shopped it was amazing, just like we picked up where we left off. It’s funny how we think we’ve changed so much until we go back in time with a friend and realize that “hey, I am the same person I was  many years ago but just a little wiser and calmer. ” Before the day was over we both promised to meet again, sometime soon and we will. 

Last night I got out a few holiday decorations and played around a bit. I love vintage looking bulbs and ornaments like bottle brush trees, mercury bulbs and oh yes I love, love my little blue deer. He is so groovy with his retro good looks and sparkly glitter and he has the tiniest bell around his neck. 

Some of you had a few questions about the book, “A Sea of Whispers”, well this started out as a novel that never got published.  I’ve now taken the idea in a totally different direction.  Instead of a story about a woman whose life didn’t turn out as she planned, it became a book of inspiration through images and words. How does a novel become a coffee table book of inspiration, well remember who you’re talking to, the girl who changes course in mid-stream at the blink of an eye.  Wink, Wink…   This book is self-published and I hope to sell it in my e-store. I have to say that the quality of this book took me by surprise, it was superb. I was so afraid that the images may turn out too flat or pixellated or that my choice of lay-outs wouldn’t look just right. But as soon as  I unwrapped it, I feel in love. It feels wonderful in my hands and the images and layouts are exceptional. I made a couple tweaks and added a thing or two and then back to the publishing company it went. It’s not a cheap book to print but then I couldn’t except anything but the best quality. As soon as it comes back from the printer I will take some pics and share. I’ll keep you posted. Writing a book and being published has always been a dream of mine and so I decided to take matters into my own hands and just do it. I can’t wait to share it with you!

 Well I’m off to get everything ready for my son, who is flying home from Oregon tomorrow. Yeah…. I hope he’s home for good. He ‘s a bit like his mother with stars in his eyes and wander-lust in his heart. 

Have a magical Wednesday!!!

xo-jj

 

November 18, 2009 - Posted by | confessions, me | , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Oh Junie, when do you leave for work, cuz I’m hopping on a plane and stealing that little blue deerie when you do. I LoVe old ornaments…I have quite a few of my grandmothers. She was born in 1888! I am working on Debville this week when those annoying doctors leave me alone. Still looking for that job where they don’t expect me to actually work. I have NO turkey, Junie!!!

    I am SO excited to see your book and so thrilled for you. Actually, some self published books have become best sellers! **kisskiss** Deb

    Comment by Deborah | November 18, 2009

  2. What fun Junie, and the book sounds amazing.

    Now that little blue deer is to die for.

    xoxxo

    Comment by Renee Khan | November 18, 2009

  3. Publishing your own book is really great. I know it’s going to be filled with creativity and juicyness just like you.

    Comment by Shell | November 18, 2009

  4. How very cool is this! I found you via my friend Shell and as I started to write to you I saw that my dear old friend Jana is on your blog roll. She is a personal friend who I adore although our paths don’t cross often I know that if they did we would laugh and have as much fun together now as we have had so many years ago. She is a beautiful lady with a wonderful sense of style.
    Thanks for the beautiful holiday image- I love all the old bulbs and trinkets passed down to me over the year. It’s funny years ago I used to put those funky old ornaments on the backside of the tree. Now they are displayed proudly front and center. I cannot wait to get them out.
    Lovely Site June. Congrats on your book! Fab!
    Laurel

    Comment by laurel | November 19, 2009


Leave a Reply

